What it costs to develop a childcare centre in Australia
A purpose-built childcare centre costs about $30,000 to $35,000 per licensed place to build in Australia in 2026, or $3,500 to $5,500 per square metre, before land, playground and soft costs. A 100-place centre lands near $6.9 million all-in on a Brisbane growth-corridor site and is worth about $7.6 million leased at $4,000 per place on a 5.25% yield.
Developing a childcare centre is a different deal from buying one. You buy land, get a contested approval through council and the state education department, build a Class 9b building to the National Regulations, then sell the finished centre to an investor on a yield or refinance and hold it. The figures below come from 2026 quantity surveyor and builder rates, the CBRE early education report, Stonebridge and Burgess Rawson sales and a private lender's published childcare facility, with a worked example for 100 places. Buying an operating centre instead? Read what a childcare centre costs to buy.
What a childcare centre costs to build per place and per square metre
The industry quotes childcare construction two ways. Per licensed place is how operators, agents and lenders talk; per square metre of gross floor area is how the builder prices it. The national benchmark for a traditional purpose-built centre is $30,000 to $35,000 per licensed place for the building, before land, external works and soft costs, which works out at about $3,500 to $5,500 per square metre depending on city, storeys and finish.
| Build type and market (2026) | Cost per m2 | Cost per licensed place | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Modular structural steel, supply and assemble only | $2,300 to $2,800 | VIC $19,000 to $28,000, QLD $21,000 to $30,000, NSW $22,000 to $31,000, WA $24,000 to $34,000 | EcoPrestige |
| Modular delivered incl. site works, NSW 75-place benchmark | $4,500 to $5,500 | $38,000 to $42,000 | EcoPrestige NSW |
| Traditional new build, Sydney | $3,800 to $5,500 | $3.0m to $5.0m plus for 60 to 100 places | BPS Sydney |
| Traditional new build, national | $3,500 to $5,500 | $30,000 to $35,000 | Feasly, Billbergia |
| Three-storey 130-place centre, metro Victoria, QS estimate | $2,960 per m2 GFA (2,298 m2) | about $52,300 (construction $6.8m) | AU Architecture, Oct 2025 |
| Two-storey 110-place centre with 24 basement car parks, Bellfield VIC, contracted | 1,721 m2 GFA, $3.48m contract | about $31,600 | Credit Connect Group, May 2026 |
The AU Architecture report shows where the money goes on a real 130-place project at 2026 Victorian rates: fixtures and fittings (kitchen, joinery, cots, lockers, toilets) alone are $643,440, external works and play areas $267,220 and car parking $232,000 inside total construction of $6,798,820, with an 8% professional and statutory fee line taking the project budget to $7.86 million. Three storeys costs about $52,000 per place; a two-storey suburban centre on a flat site sits at $31,000 to $35,000, which is why the Bellfield contract is the fair benchmark for a growth-corridor build.
Modular is the cheaper number that keeps getting quoted, but read the scope. EcoPrestige's $19,000 to $34,000 per place is the factory module craned onto a slab, excluding civils, slab, connections, landscaping, fencing, loose furniture, consultants and contributions. On its own 75-place NSW benchmark the delivered cost is $2.87 million to $3.17 million, or $38,000 to $42,000 per place, 25 to 35% under traditional rather than half.
Land and site: what 100 places actually needs
The Education and Care Services National Regulations size every site. Regulation 107 requires at least 3.25 square metres of unencumbered indoor space per child and regulation 108 at least 7 square metres of unencumbered outdoor space per child. Unencumbered means play space only: corridors, storage, staff rooms, kitchens and nappy change areas do not count. A 100-place centre needs at least 325 m2 of indoor and 700 m2 of outdoor play space, and because outdoor is the binding constraint, the licensed capacity of a site is usually the unencumbered outdoor area divided by seven. Gross floor area runs 10 to 18 m2 per place. Feasly puts typical sites at 1,500 to 4,000 m2, and the sales data agrees.
| Completed centre | Licensed places | Land area | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Play and Learn, The Gap, Brisbane | 112 | 1,962 m2 | sold $7.9m at 4.84% |
| Only About Children, Turramurra, Sydney | 87 | 2,244 m2 | 639 m2 building, low density residential zoning |
| Saltwater Preschool, Newport, Sydney | 88 | 2,387 m2 | completed 2025, sold $16.011m |
| Goodstart, Noosaville, Sunshine Coast | 75 | 2,591 m2 | 55 m frontage |
| Green Leaves, Birtinya, Sunshine Coast | not stated | 3,615 m2 | sold $11.8m at 5.32%, Aug 2026 |
| Approved site, Morayfield, Brisbane north | 160 plus 12 OSHC | 10,010 m2 | vendor spent $200,000 plus on DA and consultants |
Council parking typically runs one space per 8 to 10 children plus staff. What the dirt costs depends on whether the approval is on it. DevelopmentReady's Western Sydney survey had DA-approved childcare sites trading at about $40,000 per approved place in 2020 and 2021, with a 50-place Guildford site at $1.51 million ($30,200 per place). Current Childcare4Sale listings show the regional end: a 114-place development-ready site at Sorell in Tasmania at $2 million plus GST ($17,500 per place) and a 100-place DA site in Broken Hill at $350,000. A raw residential block bought before approval is cheaper, but you carry the approval risk and 12 to 18 months of holding cost yourself.
Approvals, playground and fit-out: the soft costs and the timeline
Childcare is one of the most contested land uses in suburban planning, and the approval is the long pole. ChildcareLink budgets $50,000 to $150,000 for DA documentation across the architect, planner, traffic, acoustic, landscape and survey consultants plus a plan of management. The statutory clock in NSW is 40 days for a standard DA and 60 for a complex one; the realistic outcome is 4 to 8 months from lodgement to determination and 8 to 12 months or more where neighbours object. In NSW the Department of Education is a concurrence authority under the Education SEPP and must agree the design meets the National Quality Framework before council can approve; an appeal adds six to twelve months.
The full programme from site to open doors is 18 to 30 months: 2 to 4 months of pre-DA design, 4 to 8 months of assessment, 1 to 2 months for the construction certificate, 10 to 14 months of building (modular runs 5 to 7 months from design lock to practical completion against 14 to 18 traditional), then 1 to 3 months for the service approval that licenses the places. Rent under an agreement for lease does not start until practical completion and service approval are both in hand, so every month of delay is capitalised interest with no income against it.
The playground is the line first-time developers under-budget. Wearthy's 2026 guide puts most childcare playground projects at $150,000 to $400,000 including design, compliant softfall, shade and certification, and EcoPrestige's full site works allowance for a 75-place NSW centre (foundations, connections, fencing, landscape and play equipment) is $1.05 million to $1.35 million. Who pays is a lease negotiation: under a typical agreement for lease the landlord delivers the building and fixed fit-out and the operator supplies loose furniture, resources and often the play equipment, which is why ChildcareLink's $500,000 to $2 million operator fit-out sits alongside, not inside, the developer's budget.
What completed centres sell for: yields and rent per place
The exit is priced off two numbers: the net rent per place in the lease, and the capitalisation rate an investor applies to it. CBRE's March 2026 Early Education report puts passing yields at 4.00% to 6.00% nationally, with 2025 metro trades as low as 3.31% and regional centres often above 6%. Stonebridge and Burgess Rawson frame the market as 4.25% to 5.25% for metro freeholds and 5.25% to 6.25% regional, after 90 to 130 basis points of compression during 2025, and Stonebridge reports $947 million traded nationally in the 2026 financial year.
| Sale (2025 to 2026) | Operator | Price | Yield | Lease and rent |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Newport, Sydney northern beaches (88 places, new) | Saltwater Preschool | $16,011,000 | 4.37% | 20-year triple net to 2045, $700,000 net, $181,943 per place (national record) |
| Turramurra, Sydney (87 places) | Only About Children | $11,500,000 | 4.54% | 27 years plus 10 plus 10, $522,086 net, fixed 3% |
| Elderslie, Camden, Sydney (130 places, completed 2025) | Young Academics | $11,500,000 | 5.26% | 15 years, fixed 3%, $604,500 net, about $4,650 per place |
| Birtinya, Sunshine Coast | Green Leaves | $11,800,000 | 5.32% | largest Queensland childcare sale in two years |
| Nirimba, Sunshine Coast (newly built) | Goodstart | $9,270,000 | 5.29% | |
| Clyde, Melbourne south east | Eden Academy | $9,120,000 | 5.99% | 55 km from the CBD |
| The Gap, Brisbane (112 places) | Play and Learn | $7,900,000 | 4.84% | 20 years to 2039 |
| Tamworth, regional NSW | not stated | $7,000,000 | 6.08% | |
| Tarneit, Melbourne west | Guardian | $6,010,000 | 5.83% |
Rent per place is the other half. CBRE's 2026 benchmarks are $4,500 per place per year metro, $4,000 commuter and $3,000 to $3,500 regional, on net leases with CPI or fixed 3 to 4% escalation and 15 to 20 year terms plus 10 plus 10 options. Live examples: Elderslie at about $4,650 per place, a 90-place Adelaide centre completed in 2026 on a new 20-year lease at $378,000 a year (about $4,200 per place), and Bellfield pre-leased at $396,000 for 110 places ($3,600 per place). The ceiling is the operator's economics: the ATO benchmarks childcare rent at 8 to 20% of revenue and CBRE at 7 to 17%, at 80 to 90% occupancy, and an operator signing above what local fees support is the covenant risk the valuer prices into the yield.
Worked example: a 100-place centre in a Brisbane growth corridor
The figures below are indicative and assembled from the sources above: a 2,500 m2 residential-zoned site in Brisbane's northern growth corridor bought before approval, a two-storey 100-place centre of 1,200 m2 gross floor area built at $2,900 per square metre (about $34,800 per place, close to the Bellfield contract), an agreement for lease signed during the DA at $4,000 per place, and a 16-month non-bank facility. All costs are ex GST with the developer registered and claiming input credits.
| Cost line | Amount | Basis |
|---|---|---|
| Land, 2,500 m2 before approval | $1,500,000 | $15,000 per place; DA-approved Sydney sites have traded at $30,000 to $40,000 per place |
| Transfer duty and acquisition legals | $75,000 | QLD duty $38,025 plus 5.75% above $1m |
| Building, 1,200 m2 at $2,900 | $3,480,000 | fixed price contract, Class 9b |
| External works: civils, 25-space car park, fencing, landscaping, playground | $650,000 | playground $250,000 within Wearthy's $150,000 to $400,000 |
| Professional and statutory fees: DA documentation, consultants, approval fees, council and utility contributions | $330,000 | 8% of hard cost, AU Architecture benchmark |
| Contingency | $207,000 | 5% of hard cost |
| Land holding during approvals (12 months) | $100,000 | land loan interest, rates and land tax |
| Construction finance (1.5% establishment, capitalised interest, QS, valuation, lender legals) | $450,000 | $4.78m facility, 9.75% p.a., 16 months |
| Leasing fee and agreement for lease legals | $75,000 | |
| Total development cost | $6,867,000 | about $68,700 per licensed place |
Loose furniture and the operator's own fit-out are excluded because the agreement for lease puts them on the operator. The value on completion is the net rent capitalised: 100 places at $4,000 is $400,000 a year, which at a 5.25% yield (the Elderslie, Birtinya and Nirimba band) values the centre at $7,619,000. That is a development profit of $752,000, or 11.0% on cost, before agents and legals on a sale. At 5.0% the value is $8,000,000 and the margin 16.5%; sign a metro-grade operator at $4,500 per place and sell at 5.0% and the value is $9,000,000 and the margin 31%. Go the other way to 5.75%, where Tarneit and Clyde traded in 2026, and the value is $6,957,000, the profit $90,000 and the margin 1.3%.
That spread is the whole lesson. The build cost barely moves between projects, so the margin is set by three things fixed before the slab is poured: land price per place, the rent per place the operator signs for, and the yield an investor pays for that operator in that suburb. The 20% margin most development lenders want is only there if the land comes in under $1.2 million or the lease at $4,500 per place, which is why experienced childcare developers negotiate the operator before they exchange on the site. If you hold, a term loan at 65% of the $7,619,000 valuation is $4,952,000, which repays the $4.78 million facility; rent of $400,000 against interest of about $347,000 at 7% leaves $53,000 a year, a 5.8% yield on cost that only widens as 3% rent reviews compound.
How a childcare development is funded
The agreement for lease with the operator is the presale equivalent and it is what lenders lend against: signed during or before the DA, conditional on planning and service approval, rent from practical completion, a sunset date if approvals fail. No pre-commitment means the facility is priced as speculative commercial construction.
Bank construction debt runs 60 to 65% of cost at roughly 6 to 7% p.a. and expects a strong covenant's pre-lease covering most of the debt. Non-bank senior lenders fund 70 to 80% of cost at 8.5 to 13% p.a.; larger commercial facilities want pre-leases covering 80 to 100% of senior debt. Private first mortgage lenders reach 80% of cost at 10.75 to 14% p.a. Credit Connect Group's Bellfield facility is the live benchmark: $3.96 million, 16 months interest only at 9.75% p.a., a 63% LVR against a $6.3 million on-completion valuation, pre-leased at $396,000 a year. Establishment fees run 1 to 3% with interest capitalised. On completion the exit is a sale or a refinance to a term loan off the yield valuation: banks at 55 to 70% LVR and non-banks up to 70%, from about 6.85% p.a. Land held before the DA can be geared under commercial property finance or property finance, and the build sits under construction finance. Private lending is typically business purpose and not consumer regulated, and every facility is subject to lender assessment. To get a number from Ventas, send the site and DA status, the operator's heads of agreement with rent per place, the builder's contract or QS estimate, your equity, and prior completions. See development finance for how Ventas structures the whole stack.
- ACECQA, Education and Care Services National Regulations (regulation 107 indoor space, regulation 108 outdoor space) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Feasly, Childcare centre development feasibility in Australia (build cost per m2 and per place, site sizes, cap rate bands, lease terms) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- EcoPrestige, Modular childcare cost per place, Australia 2026 (VIC, NSW, QLD, WA bands and scope exclusions) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- EcoPrestige, Modular childcare centres NSW 2026 (supply and delivered rates per m2, 75-place benchmark, site works, programme) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Building Project Solutions Sydney, Childcare fitout cost Sydney 2026 (new build and renovation bands, per m2, timelines) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- AU Architecture, Childcare centre construction cost report, 130-place three-storey centre, Victoria, 28 October 2025 (2026 trade rates) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Billbergia Group, Childcare crunch: $4bn shortfall opens door for developers (national cost per place, supply and approval data) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Wearthy, How much does a playground cost in Australia, 2026 guide (childcare playground bands) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- ChildcareLink, DA for a new childcare centre: the complete process (documentation budget, timeframes, parking, concurrence) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- ChildcareLink, Childcare centre lease explained (rent per place, lease terms, reviews, operator fit-out) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- ChildcareLink, Childcare cap rates in Australia 2026 (Stonebridge and Burgess Rawson bands, named transactions) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- CBRE Research, Early Education Report, March 2026 (yields, rents per place, lease structure, supply, transaction table, Turramurra highlight), hosted by Burgess Rawson (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Commo, Burgess Rawson from CBRE: demand for childcare assets intensifies as sales turnover grows by 6 per cent, 9 July 2025 (metro and regional yield bands, compression) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Commo, Stonebridge: $72 million of childcare sold as Sunshine Coast asset breaks Queensland record, 27 August 2026 (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Stonebridge Property Group, Strong Stonebridge childcare results highlight continued investor demand (The Gap, Toowoomba, Tarneit, Dakabin sales) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Stonebridge Property Group, $16 million Sydney childcare sale sets new Australian record (Saltwater Preschool, Newport) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- The Sector, Stunning Sydney childcare centre sells for $11.5 million, 23 January 2026 (Young Academics, Elderslie) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Commo, High-performing childcare centre sold, Burgess Rawson from CBRE, 28 August 2025 (Goodstart Noosaville) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Businesses For Sale, 90-place childcare centre for sale in Adelaide (2026 completion, 20-year lease, $378,000 base rent) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Credit Connect Group, Case study: $3.96M first mortgage loan supports childcare development in Bellfield, Victoria, May 2026 (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Feasly, Private lenders for property development in Australia (LTC, LVR, rate and fee bands by lender type) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Efficient Capital, Construction finance Australia 2026 (bank versus non-bank rates, pre-lease cover on commercial facilities, approval times) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Smart Business Plans Australia, Childcare property loans (term loan LVR by lender type, rate range) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Burke Lawyers, Agreements for lease and leases in childcare property development (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Childcare4Sale, Development sites listings (Sorell, Brisbane riverside, Broken Hill) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- CommercialProperty2Sell, DA childcare approved development site, Morayfield QLD (10,010 m2, 160 places) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- DevelopmentReady, Childcare centres buck the trend of a cooling commercial property market, 17 October 2022 (Western Sydney DA-approved site prices per place) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Queensland Revenue Office, transfer duty rates (accessed 25 September 2026)
This is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Figures are indicative market data from the sources listed, not Ventas offers, and move with the market. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a professional. All finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to build a childcare centre in Australia in 2026?
About $30,000 to $35,000 per licensed place for a traditional purpose-built centre, or $3,500 to $5,500 per square metre, before land, playground and soft costs. Modular modules alone run $19,000 to $34,000 per place by state but delivered with site works land at $38,000 to $42,000. A three-storey metro centre can reach $52,000 per place.
How much land do you need for a 100-place childcare centre?
The National Regulations require 3.25 square metres of unencumbered indoor space and 7 square metres of unencumbered outdoor space per child, so at least 325 m2 indoor and 700 m2 outdoor play space. With parking at one space per 8 to 10 children, a 100-place centre usually needs a 1,500 to 4,000 m2 site; recent sales sat at 1,962 to 2,591 m2.
How long does a childcare centre development take?
Plan on 18 to 30 months from site to opening: 2 to 4 months of pre-DA documentation, 4 to 8 months of council assessment (8 to 12 or more if contested), 1 to 2 months for the construction certificate, 10 to 14 months of building, and 1 to 3 months for the service approval that licenses the places. Modular construction cuts the build to 5 to 7 months.
What is the total development cost of a 100-place childcare centre?
The worked example on a 2,500 m2 Brisbane growth-corridor site lands at $6,867,000, about $68,700 per licensed place: $1.5 million of land, $3.48 million of building, $650,000 of external works and playground, $330,000 of fees and contributions, contingency, holding costs and $450,000 of construction finance. The operator's loose fit-out is on top.
What is a completed childcare centre worth?
The net rent capitalised at the market yield. Yields ran 4.00% to 6.00% in 2025 and 2026, metro freeholds at 4.25 to 5.25% and regional at 5.25 to 6.25%. A 100-place centre leased at $4,000 per place ($400,000 net) is worth about $7.6 million at 5.25% and $8 million at 5.0%. Rent per place runs $3,000 regional to $4,500 metro.
How is a childcare centre development financed?
An agreement for lease with the operator is the presale equivalent. Banks fund 60 to 65% of cost at about 6 to 7% p.a. with a strong pre-lease, non-banks 70 to 80% at 8.5 to 13%, and private lenders up to 80% at 10.75 to 14%. On completion the facility is refinanced to a term loan at 55 to 70% of the yield valuation or repaid from a sale, subject to assessment.
Get your number from the lender panel
The figures above are indicative. Tell us what you are buying and we will come back with the real rate and repayment, usually within a day. No upfront fees and no credit check to get a quote.
Licence, freehold and funding, read together
Tell us the LPO and whether freehold is included and we will structure it, usually within a day.
This article is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Ventas Asset Lending is a finance broker, not a lender. Approvals are subject to lender assessment. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a qualified professional, including your accountant for any tax questions.