What it costs to buy a physio or allied health clinic in Australia
Australian physiotherapy clinics are listed from about $150,000 for a small owner-run practice to $2m plus for a multi-site business; most single-site clinics with two to four practitioners trade between $350,000 and $900,000. Brokers price at 2 to 3.5 times adjusted EBITDA for a single site and 3.5 to 5 times for multi-site groups. Owner dependency sets the multiple.
A physio, chiro, osteo or podiatry clinic is priced on the profit it makes after the owner is paid a market wage, and on how much of that profit walks out the door when the owner does. That is why a six-room Melbourne practice billing $600,000 with $300,000 of owner profit and a two-room suburban clinic billing $250,000 sit in completely different brackets, even though both are physiotherapy. Room count, practitioner mix, payer mix (private, NDIS, WorkCover, DVA) and lease terms all move the number. This guide sets out what is listed right now across the main Australian marketplaces and specialist brokers, the multiples valuers actually use, and how buyers fund the purchase.
What physio and allied health clinics sell for
The table below is a survey of live and recently sold listings across AnyBusiness, Bsale, businessforsale.com.au, BusinessesForSale and the specialist health practice brokers in late September 2026. Where the broker has not published a price we show the turnover or profit disclosed instead, because that is what the price is built from.
| Listing | Rooms or sites | Turnover or profit shown | Asking price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Central Melbourne suburbs physio, est. 1987 (Bsale 627720, sold) | 6 treatment rooms, 2 physios incl. owner | About $600,000 turnover, $300,000 plus profit to owner | Not published |
| Northern Tasmania physio, 20 plus years | 4 to 5 rooms | About $650,000 revenue, about $250,000 net profit, rent $6,000 a year | $875,000 negotiable |
| Bankstown, NSW physio and sports injury (Bonza 37031) | Multiple rooms | Not disclosed | $350,000 |
| Sydney physio for runners, cyclists and triathletes, 18 years | Not stated | Not disclosed | $499,500 negotiable |
| Mildura, VIC regional allied health and rehab (Bonza 37128) | Not stated | Not disclosed | $575,000 |
| Melbourne psychology and physio clinic (Bonza 36364) | Not stated | Not disclosed | $820,000 |
| Queensland allied health, growing (LINK Sunshine Coast) | Not stated | Not disclosed | $1,150,000 |
| Regional Queensland multi-location physio, 15 plus years (LINK) | Multiple clinics | Not disclosed | $1,600,000 plus SAV |
| Sydney multi-site physio plus 3 subleased medical centre rooms (LINK NSW) | 1 clinic plus 3 rooms | Not disclosed | $1,950,000 ONO |
| Regional Victoria NDIS and TAC funded physio and exercise physiology (Benchmark) | Multiple physios and EPs | About $1.5m revenue, $360,000 plus adjusted EBITDA | Expressions of interest |
| Shepparton, VIC regional allied health (Xcllusive, under offer) | Not stated | Advertised income $1,730,000, profit $408,000 (2025) | $425,000 |
| South East Queensland allied health group, 30 plus staff (business2sell 24518) | Multiple clinics plus telehealth | $3.31m revenue, about $1.09m adjusted EBITDA | $3,500,000 |
| Queensland allied health under management (LINK Brisbane, under contract) | Multiple | $3m plus revenue | $2,950,000 |
| Cross Care franchised NDIS allied health clinics, NSW (7 locations, turnkey) | New fitout | No trading history | $199,000 each |
Three things stand out. First, the cheap end is a fitout and a lease, not a business. The $149,000 to $199,000 listings are turnkey franchise clinics or a multi-room tenancy sold walk-in walk-out; you are buying the rooms and building the patient book yourself. Second, the specialist brokers (Healthcare Practice Sales, Practice4Sale, Medical Business Brokers) rarely publish a price. Their pages show price as equipment only or on application, and most adverts are already marked sold. Third, where turnover and price are both disclosed the ratio is tight. The northern Tasmania clinic asks $875,000 on $250,000 net, or 3.5 times, and 1.35 times revenue. The South East Queensland group asks $3.5m on $1.09m adjusted EBITDA, or 3.2 times, and 1.06 times revenue. Those two ratios are the ones to carry into the next section.
One listing shows why you read the numbers before the headline. The Shepparton practice advertises $408,000 profit against a $425,000 price, which is about one times earnings and does not reconcile with the market. Either the profit figure is before practitioner wages, or the sale is for part of the business.
Chiro, osteo and podiatry: the same maths, smaller numbers
Chiropractic, osteopathy and podiatry practices sell on the same earnings logic as physio but the pool of buyers is thinner, because the buyer usually has to hold the same registration as the seller. That compresses prices at the top end and leaves plenty of stock under $500,000.
| Listing | Discipline | Turnover or profit shown | Asking price |
|---|---|---|---|
| Brighton, Bayside Melbourne, VIC (Business Brokers Network) | Chiropractic | Not disclosed | $500,000 |
| Sunshine Coast region, QLD (Bonza 37026) | Chiropractic, long established | Not disclosed | $250,000 |
| Perth region, WA, only osteo provider in catchment (Bonza 36435) | Osteopathy and allied health | Not disclosed | $499,500 |
| 4 km north of Melbourne CBD (Healthcare Practice Sales 4141, sold) | Osteo and multi-disciplinary | Not disclosed | $114,000 plus equipment |
| NSW multi-room allied health clinic (Business Brokers Network) | Allied health | Not disclosed | $149,000 walk-in walk-out |
| Erina, Central Coast NSW (Business Brokers Network) | Podiatry | $301,000 plus turnover | $299,000 |
| Brisbane, QLD (Interbiz) | Podiatry | $244,000 plus net, as advertised | $245,000 |
| Heathmont, VIC (BPA) | Podiatry | Not disclosed | $650,000 |
| Croydon, VIC | Podiatry, small | Not disclosed | $68,000 |
The Erina podiatry practice is the cleanest comparable on the list: $299,000 asked on $301,000 of turnover, which is one times revenue and, at a typical 30 to 40 per cent owner margin, roughly 2.5 to 3 times owner earnings. That is exactly where Miro Capital places a solo podiatry practice (1.5 to 2.5 times seller discretionary earnings) and a small two to four podiatrist group (2.5 to 4 times EBITDA). Miro's worked examples put a solo practice on $160,000 of owner earnings at $240,000 to $400,000 and a small group on $300,000 of adjusted EBITDA at $750,000 to $1.2m. IBISWorld sizes the chiropractic and osteopathic services industry at $1.8bn in 2026 with an average profit margin of 18.4 per cent, the margin a valuer expects before believing a bigger one.
How the price is set: EBITDA multiple, not turnover
Sellers talk about turnover. Valuers, lenders and the buyers who actually settle talk about adjusted EBITDA, which is profit after every practitioner including the owner is paid a market wage. The published ranges below are the ones Australian advisers are using in 2026.
| Practice type | Published multiple | Source | Worked on $250,000 adjusted EBITDA |
|---|---|---|---|
| Standalone single-site physio | 2 to 3.5x EBITDA | Miro Capital, 7 May 2026 | $500,000 to $875,000 |
| Multi-site or multi-practitioner physio | 3.5 to 5x EBITDA | Miro Capital, 7 May 2026 | $875,000 to $1.25m |
| High-performing metro physio with NDIS and WorkCover books | 4.5 to 5x EBITDA | Miro Capital, 7 May 2026 | $1.1m to $1.25m |
| Physio, general rule of thumb | About 2.5x net profit | Physio Inq | $625,000 |
| Solo podiatry, owner operated | 1.5 to 2.5x seller discretionary earnings | Miro Capital, 16 July 2026 | $375,000 to $625,000 |
| Small group podiatry, 2 to 4 practitioners | 2.5 to 4x EBITDA | Miro Capital, 16 July 2026 | $625,000 to $1m |
| Larger multi-site or specialist podiatry | 4 to 5.5x EBITDA | Miro Capital, 16 July 2026 | $1m to $1.375m |
| Private equity roll-up, single practice tuck-in | 5 to 7x EBITDA | Miro Capital, healthcare valuations | Groups with clinical governance only |
Miro puts most independent physio sales in Australia between $300,000 and $2m and most podiatry sales between $200,000 and $1.8m, which matches the listings above. The proper method behind all of these shortcuts is capitalisation of future maintainable earnings: RSM's allied health guidance starts from listed health company multiples (Healthia is the largest physio operator, per IBISWorld) and then discounts for size, control and practice-specific risk.
The turnover ratios in the first table (1.06 to 1.35 times revenue) are a by-product, not a method. A clinic billing $600,000 with 50 per cent owner margin (the sold Melbourne listing) and one billing $600,000 with 15 per cent margin are $200,000 or more apart in price. If a broker quotes you a price as a multiple of turnover, convert it back to EBITDA before you go any further, because that is the number the lender will use.
What moves the price up or down
Two clinics with the same EBITDA can be $300,000 apart. These are the items valuers and brokers weight, in rough order of impact.
- Owner dependency. The biggest driver. Miro's podiatry example shows a practice moving from 1.8 times to 2.8 times earnings, about $160,000 on a $160,000 SDE practice, by cutting the owner's clinical load from 70 per cent to 40 per cent over two years. A clinic where employed practitioners hold their own patient relationships holds its multiple; a clinic that is one practitioner and a receptionist does not.
- Payer mix. NDIS, WorkCover, TAC and DVA revenue is priced at a premium because it is contracted and predictable. The regional Victoria listing leads with NDIS and TAC in the headline for that reason. Miro's podiatry benchmark is DVA at 25 to 35 per cent of revenue and aged care contracts worth $80,000 to $120,000 a year as evidence of a stable base. Check the provider registrations transfer with the entity and are not held personally by the seller.
- Employed versus contractor practitioners. Employment contracts with restraints demonstrate that revenue stays. Contractor models where each practitioner could leave with their book are discounted.
- Rooms and capacity. Six rooms with two practitioners, as in the Melbourne listing, is priced on what it bills now and marked up modestly for capacity. Capacity is only worth paying for if you can recruit into it, and regional recruitment is the hard part.
- Lease. The northern Tasmania clinic advertises $6,000 a year rent as a headline feature. You want five plus five years remaining with assignment consent; under three years is a discount item, and a sublease from a medical centre (as in the Sydney $1.95m listing) needs the head landlord's consent.
- Equipment and fitout age. Reformers, trapeze tables, treadmills, shockwave and ultrasound units are $5,000 to $40,000 each to replace. Our medical practice fitout cost guide has current per-room fitout pricing to sanity check the equipment schedule.
- Referral base. A spread across GPs, surgeons, insurers and sporting clubs beats one GP next door sending most of the patients.
On due diligence, insist on three years of practice management reports (Cliniko, Nookal, Halaxy) showing active patients, new patients a month and rebooking rate, then reconcile billings to the BAS. If the practice is inside a medical centre, or the sale includes GP rooms, read our guide to buying a medical practice, because Medicare billing and room income are valued differently.
What you pay on top of the price
The asking price is rarely the cheque. Budget for the following and expect the lender to ask you to show it.
- Stock at valuation, written as plus SAV on the regional Queensland listing. Consumables and retail lines run $5,000 to $25,000 on a mid-sized clinic.
- Transfer duty. Queensland, Western Australia and the Northern Territory charge duty on the transfer of business goodwill and assets; New South Wales and Victoria do not on a pure business sale. On a $600,000 Queensland practice that is in the order of $17,000 to $22,000, so confirm with your accountant before you sign.
- Legal, accounting and valuation. $10,000 to $25,000 for contract review, financial due diligence and an independent valuation if the lender wants one.
- Working capital. HICAPS and private billing settle fast, but NDIS and WorkCover invoices can run 30 to 60 days. Lenders like to see $30,000 to $80,000 of working capital on a two to four practitioner clinic, in cash or as an overdraft.
- Deferred equipment. If the treatment tables or reformers are past their life, price the replacement now on a separate equipment finance facility rather than adding it to the goodwill loan.
Financing a physio or allied health clinic purchase
The 100 per cent practice loans you read about are written for doctors, dentists and vets. BOQ Specialist publishes up to 100 per cent of the purchase price with terms to 15 years and interest only to three years for those three professions. NAB Health and Credabl publish the same headline for medical, dental and veterinary practices. Allied health buyers can borrow against goodwill, but lenders typically advance 50 to 70 per cent of a supported valuation, so plan on a 30 to 50 per cent deposit from savings, home equity or a vendor loan unless property is offered as security.
Most allied health deals are structured in layers. Goodwill goes on a business acquisition loan, priced on the adjusted EBITDA and the buyer's own clinical income. Fitout and equipment being replaced at settlement go on equipment finance secured on the gear. Where the clinic sits in a freehold the buyer is also acquiring, the property is funded separately at property-backed rates and the business loan covers only the goodwill. Vendor finance of 10 to 20 per cent with the seller staying on for a year is common at the $500,000 to $1m level.
Start at allied health finance, then business acquisition finance. To get a number from us, send the asking price, three years of profit and loss, the practitioner count and whether they are employed or contracted, the payer mix, the lease term and whether you own property. Finance is subject to lender assessment.
- AnyBusiness, physiotherapy businesses for sale (49 listings; Sydney multi-site $1,950,000; Bankstown $350,000; regional QLD $1,600,000 plus SAV; Mildura $575,000; Melbourne $820,000; QLD $1,150,000 and $2,950,000; Shepparton $425,000; regional VIC $1.5m revenue; Cross Care $199,000) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- AnyBusiness, chiropractic businesses for sale (Brighton $500,000; Sunshine Coast $250,000; Perth $499,500; NSW $149,000 WIWO) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- AnyBusiness, podiatry businesses for sale (Erina $299,000 on $301,000 turnover; Brisbane $245,000; Heathmont $650,000; Croydon $68,000) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Bsale, physiotherapy practice, central Melbourne suburbs, listing 627720 (6 rooms, $600,000 turnover, $300,000 owner profit, sold) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- BusinessesForSale, physiotherapy practice northern Tasmania ($875,000 negotiable, $650,000 revenue, $250,000 net profit, 4 to 5 rooms) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- BusinessesForSale, Bonza 37031 profitable physiotherapy practice, Bankstown ($350,000) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- businessforsale.com.au, physiotherapy businesses for sale NSW (17 listings) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- businessforsale.com.au, chiropractor businesses for sale (Sunshine Coast $250,000; Perth osteo $499,500; Bayside Melbourne $500,000) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- business2sell, under management allied health group, South East Queensland, listing 24518 ($3,500,000; $3.31m revenue; $1.09m adjusted EBITDA; 30 plus staff) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Healthcare Practice Sales, physiotherapy clinics for sale (about 14 adverts, most sold, price on application) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Healthcare Practice Sales, chiropractic practices for sale (17 adverts, 1 active) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Healthcare Practice Sales, osteopathy practices for sale (listing 4141 sold at $114,000 plus equipment) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- SEEK Business, physiotherapy and chiropractic businesses for sale (category index; listing pages return 403 to automated access) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Miro Capital, How much is my physiotherapy practice worth in Australia (7 May 2026; 2 to 3.5x single site, 3.5 to 5x multi-site, sales $300k to $2m) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Miro Capital, How much is my podiatry practice worth in Australia (16 July 2026; 1.5 to 2.5x solo SDE, 2.5 to 4x small group, 4 to 5.5x multi-site) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Miro Capital, Healthcare practice valuations in Australia and the private equity wave (roll-ups buy at 5 to 7x EBITDA) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Physio Inq, Valuing a physio business (about 2.5x net profit) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- RSM Australia, How to value your allied health practice (capitalisation of future maintainable earnings) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- IBISWorld, Physiotherapy Services in Australia 2026 ($3.9bn revenue, 9,963 businesses, Healthia largest) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- IBISWorld, Chiropractic and Osteopathic Services in Australia 2026 ($1.8bn revenue, 18.4 per cent profit margin) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- BOQ Specialist, practice purchase loans (up to 100 per cent for doctors, dentists and vets; 15 years; interest only to 3 years) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- NAB Health, healthcare practice finance (up to 100 per cent of purchase price, medical, dental and veterinary, subject to eligibility) (accessed 25 September 2026)
- Credabl, Buying a practice (up to 100 per cent, interest only to 5 years, medical, dental and veterinary) and allied health finance (accessed 25 September 2026)
This is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Figures are indicative market data from the sources listed, not Ventas offers, and move with the market. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a professional. All finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a physio clinic cost to buy in Australia?
Current listings run from about $150,000 for a small owner-run or turnkey clinic to $2m or more for a multi-site business, with most single-site physio clinics with two to four practitioners between $350,000 and $900,000. Miro Capital puts most independent physio sales in Australia between $300,000 and $2m.
What multiple do physiotherapy practices sell for?
Miro Capital's May 2026 guidance is 2 to 3.5 times adjusted EBITDA for a standalone single-site clinic and 3.5 to 5 times for multi-site or multi-practitioner practices, with high-performing metro clinics carrying NDIS and WorkCover books at 4.5 to 5 times. Private equity buyers pay 5 to 7 times, but only for groups with clinical governance in place.
Is a physio practice priced on turnover or profit?
Profit. Valuers and lenders use adjusted EBITDA after every practitioner, including the owner, is paid a market wage. Turnover ratios on current listings land between about 1.06 and 1.35 times revenue, but that is a by-product of the margin, not a method. Convert any turnover-based price back to EBITDA before you negotiate.
Can a physiotherapist borrow 100 per cent to buy a clinic?
The published 100 per cent practice loans from BOQ Specialist, NAB Health and Credabl are for doctors, dentists and vets. Allied health buyers can borrow against goodwill, but lenders typically advance 50 to 70 per cent of a supported valuation, so plan on a deposit of 30 to 50 per cent from savings, home equity or vendor finance unless property is offered as security.
What do chiropractic, osteopathy and podiatry practices sell for?
Current listings run from $68,000 for a small podiatry practice to $650,000 for an established Melbourne podiatry clinic and $500,000 for a Bayside Melbourne chiropractic practice. Miro Capital prices solo podiatry at 1.5 to 2.5 times seller discretionary earnings and small groups at 2.5 to 4 times EBITDA, with most sales between $200,000 and $1.8m.
What makes one physio clinic worth more than another with the same profit?
Low owner dependency, employed practitioners with restraint clauses, a contracted payer mix (NDIS, WorkCover, TAC, DVA), a long lease with assignment consent, modern equipment and a spread of referral sources. Miro's example shows a practice lifting from 1.8 to 2.8 times earnings by cutting the owner's clinical load from 70 to 40 per cent.
Get your number from the lender panel
The figures above are indicative. Tell us what you are buying and we will come back with the real rate and repayment, usually within a day. No upfront fees and no credit check to get a quote.
Licence, freehold and funding, read together
Tell us the LPO and whether freehold is included and we will structure it, usually within a day.
This article is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Ventas Asset Lending is a finance broker, not a lender. Approvals are subject to lender assessment. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a qualified professional, including your accountant for any tax questions.