What a cafe fit-out costs in Australia
A standard 40 to 80 square metre cafe fit-out in Australia costs about $100,000 to $350,000, or $3,000 to $5,000 per square metre. A light refit of an existing cafe runs $1,500 to $3,000 per square metre, and a large cafe with a full kitchen starts near $350,000. Equipment takes 40 to 60 per cent of the budget.
Two cafes of the same size can cost very different amounts to open. One published guide says a previously fitted-out food tenancy can be worth $60,000 to $100,000 more than an equivalent empty shop. Size, kitchen scope and the espresso setup add the rest. This guide sets out published Australian prices per square metre and for each major item, what four real fit-outs cost, council fees, and how a fit-out is funded, with a worked example.
What a cafe fit-out costs per square metre and by item
Fit-out is quoted per square metre, but the figure moves with how much building work the space needs. We found no free quantity surveyor rate for a cafe, so the per square metre bands come from hospitality fit-out publishers, and the item prices come from dealers. Hospitality Hub is a supplier quote service, WhatsTheDamage is a cost-guide site that does not name its sources, and DineOpen is a point-of-sale software company. Treat the bands as a planning range and get two or three itemised quotes. Figures are indicative market data, not Ventas offers. They were checked on 22 October 2026, and GST is shown as each seller shows it. Sqm means square metre.
| Item | Price | Where | Source and date |
|---|---|---|---|
| Light refit of an existing cafe | $1,500 to $3,000 per sqm | National | Hospitality Hub, 17 July 2026 |
| Standard cafe build, 40 to 80 sqm | $3,000 to $5,000 per sqm, $100,000 to $350,000 total | National | Hospitality Hub, 17 July 2026 |
| Large cafe with a full kitchen, 80 sqm plus | $5,000 plus per sqm, $350,000 to $600,000 plus total | National | Hospitality Hub, 17 July 2026 |
| Basic cafe or takeaway fit-out | $2,525 to $3,325 per sqm. A 40 sqm espresso bar totals $80,000 to $150,000 and an 80 to 120 sqm dine-in cafe $180,000 to $350,000 | Melbourne, VIC | WhatsTheDamage, October 2026 |
| Design and consultation fees | $10,000 to $40,000 | National | Hospitality Hub, 29 May 2025 |
| Exhaust canopy, ductwork and fan, small cafe or takeaway | $8,000 to $15,000 installed | National | Hospitality Hub, 17 July 2026 |
| New two-group espresso machine, entry level (Wega Atlas EVD 2 Group Compact) | $6,133.60 including GST | Online dealer price | Petra Equipment |
| New two-group espresso machine, premium (La Marzocco Linea AV 2 Group) | $15,592.50 including GST (special price, was $17,325) | Online dealer price | Petra Equipment |
| Commercial grinder (Mazzer Major V Automatic) | $2,190.90 including GST, or $2,244.00 including GST | Sydney dealer, online dealer | Di Pacci, Petra Equipment |
| Modular cool room, 1750 x 1750 mm (Misa, 2.15 m or 2.55 m high) | $10,251 to $11,047 plus GST, delivery not shown | Sydney, NSW | Sydney Commercial Kitchens |
| Two-door stainless under-bench fridge (Exquisite USC260H, 282 litres) | $2,520 plus GST | Sydney, NSW | Sydney Commercial Kitchens |
| Furniture | $8,000 to $15,000 for 30 seats, $15,000 to $30,000 for 50 seats | Melbourne and Sydney | DineOpen, 18 April 2026 |
| Signage and branding | $3,000 to $8,000 for 30 seats, $5,000 to $12,000 for 50 seats. Airtasker shows $2,000 for an outdoor business sign, wiring extra | Melbourne and Sydney (DineOpen), national (Airtasker) | DineOpen, 18 April 2026. Airtasker, 14 December 2023 |
Two things stand out. The bands overlap but do not agree: Hospitality Hub puts a standard cafe at $3,000 to $5,000 per square metre, while the Melbourne guide puts a basic cafe or takeaway at $2,525 to $3,325 and a full-service restaurant at up to $4,050. Neither shows the quotes behind its band. And the build is not the only large cost. Hospitality Hub puts equipment at 40 to 60 per cent of a cafe budget, and says a commercial espresso machine lists from about $3,000 to $20,000 with grinders extra.
Some items sit outside the table. Replacing an outdated exhaust hood can add about $30,000 in Melbourne, more if there is no discharge path to the roof. Compliant flooring starts around $200 per square metre in the same guide. Joinery, plumbing and electrical are quoted per job, and none of the guides we read publishes a rate for them, so leave them to your builder's itemised quote. If you are weighing a trading cafe against a new build, read our guide to buying a cafe.
What four real cafe fit-outs cost
Published guides are estimates. These are four projects with a stated cost. Three are vendor claims from business-for-sale listings, which are marketing figures and not audited, and may include equipment and setup. The Adelaide figure is the builder's stated project value. Bsale labels some key features as AI-generated, so confirm listing figures with the broker. Listings were opened on 22 October 2026.
| Project | Size | Stated cost | Per sqm | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Fratelli Cafe, Adelaide CBD, SA (Mossop) | Not stated | Project value $887K, delivered cost-plus, 21 weeks | Not calculable | New cafe with commercial kitchen, indoor and outdoor seating, facade alterations and an upgraded grease arrestor |
| Durks franchise cafe, Blacktown, NSW (Bsale 683130) | About 85 sqm | Vendor has "invested $350,000" to build and launch, opened 19 February 2026 | About $4,100 (our arithmetic) | Listing shows under contract |
| Cafe, Melbourne CBD, VIC (Bsale 631614) | 260 sqm (bullets say 265) | "$1 million fit-out", asking $289,000, turnover $30,000 a week | About $3,800 (our arithmetic) | Capacity for 200 patrons. Sale status not shown. Bsale marks the key features as AI-generated |
| High-end cafe, Busselton, WA (Bsale 685793) | Not disclosed | "Over $600,000 invested in fit-out, equipment and setup", asking $600,000 | Not disclosed | Owner relocating. Key features marked AI-generated by Bsale |
The Blacktown figure works out at about $4,100 per square metre, inside the $3,000 to $5,000 band Hospitality Hub gives for a standard build. The Melbourne CBD seller asks $289,000 for a venue the listing says cost $1 million to fit out, so the seller of a fitted site may take far less than the build cost. The Adelaide figure is not like-for-like with a tenancy fit-out, because its scope includes facade alterations and outdoor dining.
Why two cafes of the same size cost different amounts
The same floor area can cost very different amounts, depending on what the tenancy already holds.
- An existing food tenancy. The Melbourne guide says a previously fitted-out food tenancy can be worth $60,000 to $100,000 more than an equivalent empty shop. A bare shell may need a grease arrestor, a mechanical exhaust path to roof level, three-phase power and a cool room. That guide names these as cost items but publishes no price for them.
- The kitchen. The Melbourne guide prices a mid-range kitchen footprint at $3,000 to $5,000 per square metre on its own, and small cafe kitchen equipment (20 to 40 sqm) at $50,000 to $200,000. How much cooking you do decides where in that range you land.
- Price movement. Hospitality Hub forecasts construction costs to rise about 4 per cent across 2026 and says like-for-like fit-outs are 5 to 10 per cent dearer than a year ago.
- Time. Hospitality Hub puts a typical fit-out at 6 to 12 weeks once approvals are in, with 8 to 16 week lead times on imported coffee machines and fridges. Ask your landlord for a rent-free fit-out period.
- Contingency. Zest Coffee, a roaster, advises holding 10 to 20 per cent of the total budget as a contingency line.
Council fees and approvals
Food business fees are small next to the build, but they differ by council and by year. These are the amounts each council lists, either on its own page or on the government business portal ABLIS.
| Council | Fee shown | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| City of Melbourne, VIC | $1,133.00 small, $1,462.60 medium, $2,029.10 large | Class 1 and 2 food premises registration, fees for 2026-27 |
| Brisbane City Council, QLD | $1,005.90 for a food handling and storage area under 250 sqm | Food business licence application. An optional pre-lodgement consultation and report is $378.75. The page does not state a fee year |
| Sutherland Shire, NSW | $100.00 administration, $210.00 per inspection | Fees for 2026-27. The listing also shows a Food Authority inspection or audit at $370 an hour, minimum half an hour |
| City of Perth, WA | $105.00 notification | Fees for 2025-26. Further fees may apply |
| City of Adelaide, SA | No notification fee. $145.00 per inspection for a business under 20 food handlers | Inspection fees, 2026-27 |
These are registration and inspection fees only. Building approval, planning permits, a liquor licence, trade waste and the food safety supervisor course are separate, and the rules differ by state and council, so ask your council before you sign a lease. We found no published planning or plan approval fee for a cafe that we could cite.
How a cafe fit-out is funded
Lenders treat a cafe fit-out as two piles. Equipment has a resale market, so it finances on its own, usually on a chattel mortgage or lease with the item as the security. Built-in work is harder. Joinery, plumbing, ducting and cool room panels sit inside a landlord's building and resell poorly, so lenders ask for a deposit, a shorter term or other security. Lenders are cautious about hospitality: CreditorWatch measured a 12.03 per cent closure rate for cafes, restaurants and takeaways in the 12 months to July 2026, against 6.69 per cent across all industries. Ventas is a broker, not a lender, so we do not quote rates. Some lenders on our panel fund kitchen and fit-out together up to about $500,000, subject to lender assessment.
Illustrative only, subject to lender assessment. A 70 square metre dine-in cafe in a leased tenancy:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Design, drawings and approvals | $22,000 |
| Building works: joinery, plumbing, electrical, flooring, lighting | $70,000 |
| Exhaust canopy, ductwork and fan | $15,000 |
| Espresso machine and two grinders | $24,000 |
| Kitchen equipment: cooking, dishwasher, prep | $42,000 |
| Refrigeration: cool room, under-bench and display fridges | $32,000 |
| Furniture and signage | $22,000 |
| POS, smallwares, licences and legal | $18,000 |
| Fit-out and equipment subtotal (about $3,500 per sqm, equipment 40 per cent) | $245,000 |
| Contingency, 10 per cent | $24,500 |
| Opening stock and working capital buffer | $45,000 |
| Total cash needed | $314,500 |
And how it is typically funded across lender types:
| Funding layer | Amount | What it covers | Secured on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment finance | $85,000 | Espresso machine, grinders, cooking gear, dishwasher, freestanding fridges | The equipment itself |
| Property-backed or fit-out loan | $85,000 | Joinery, plumbing, electrical, flooring, lighting, exhaust and ducting | Your home or other property, or a director guarantee with other security |
| Your funds | $144,500 | Design and approvals, cool room, furniture and signage, POS and legal, contingency, stock and working capital | Cash |
| Total | $314,500 |
Debt here is just over half the cash needed. Built-in work is usually covered by your own cash, a loan secured on property you own, or a landlord contribution or rent-free period agreed before you sign the lease. Get any incentive in writing, because it is a lease term. How the spend is treated for tax is a question for your accountant.
What makes a cafe fit-out fundable:
- Paperwork. A signed builder's quote, the equipment list and the lease.
- Lease term. At least as many years left as the loan term.
- Experience. Hospitality experience, ideally running a venue.
- Security. Property, equipment and cash you can put in.
- Buffer. A contingency line so a cost overrun does not stall the build.
To get a number from Ventas, send the fit-out quote, the equipment list, the lease and your hospitality experience. Start at fit-out finance, see coffee machine finance, read our answer to can I finance a cafe or restaurant fit-out, or see finance for cafes and restaurants. Finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
- Hospitality Hub, Cafe Fitout Buying Guide Australia 2026 (updated 17 July 2026; light refit $1,500 to $3,000 per sqm, standard build $3,000 to $5,000, large $5,000 plus; totals $100,000 to $350,000 for 40 to 80 sqm; equipment 40 to 60 per cent; espresso machines from about $3,000 to $20,000; 6 to 12 weeks once approvals are in; 8 to 16 week lead times) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Hospitality Hub, Hospitality Fitout Costs in Australia 2026 (updated 17 July 2026; construction costs forecast to rise about 4 per cent across 2026, like-for-like fit-outs 5 to 10 per cent dearer) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Hospitality Hub, Commercial Exhaust Hood Prices in Australia 2026 (updated 17 July 2026; installed system for a small cafe or takeaway about $8,000 to $15,000) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Hospitality Hub, Cafe Fitout Prices and Buying Guide (updated 29 May 2025; design and consultation fees $10,000 to $40,000; its $100,000 to $350,000 total cites IBISWorld 2024) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- WhatsTheDamage, Cafe and Restaurant Fit-out Cost in Melbourne (October 2026; basic cafe or takeaway $2,525 to $3,325 per sqm, restaurant to $4,050, 40 sqm espresso bar $80,000 to $150,000, 80 to 120 sqm dine-in $180,000 to $350,000, kitchen equipment $50,000 to $200,000, hood replacement about $30,000, flooring from $200 per sqm, fitted food tenancy worth $60,000 to $100,000 more; page does not name its sources) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Petra Equipment, La Marzocco Linea AV 2 Group (special price $15,592.50 GST included, was $17,325.00) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Petra Equipment, Wega coffee machines (Atlas EVD 2 Group Compact $6,133.60 including GST, $5,576.00 excluding GST) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Di Pacci, Mazzer Major V Automatic Grinder ($2,190.90, tax included; free Sydney metro installation on new commercial machines) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Petra Equipment, Mazzer Major V Auto Coffee Grinder (special price $2,244.00 GST included) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Sydney Commercial Kitchens, Coolrooms (Misa M-2B20-C $10,251.00 plus GST and M-2B24-C $11,047.00 plus GST, 1750 x 1750 mm) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Sydney Commercial Kitchens, Bench Fridges (Exquisite USC260H two-door stainless under-bench fridge, 282 litres, $2,520.00 plus GST) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- DineOpen, Opening a Cafe in Melbourne or Sydney, What It Costs in 2026 (18 April 2026; furniture $8,000 to $15,000 for 30 seats and $15,000 to $30,000 for 50 seats; signage $3,000 to $8,000 and $5,000 to $12,000; DineOpen sells point-of-sale software) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Airtasker, Signage Cost (14 December 2023; set aside $2,000 for an outdoor business sign, wiring extra) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Mossop, Fratelli Cafe project page, Adelaide CBD (value $887K, cost-plus delivery, 21 weeks; commercial kitchen, facade alterations, grease arrestor upgrade) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Bsale, Brand New Durks Franchise Cafe near Blacktown NSW, listing 683130 (vendor invested $350,000, about 85 sqm, opened 19 February 2026, shown under contract) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Bsale, Lucrative Under Management Cafe, Melbourne VIC, listing 631614 ($289,000 asking, "$1 million fit-out", 260 sqm, capacity for 200) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Bsale, Move To Busselton High-end Cafe, WA, listing 685793 ($600,000 asking, "Over $600,000 invested in fit-out, equipment and setup") (accessed 22 October 2026)
- ABLIS, Registration of a Fixed Food Premises, City of Melbourne (class 1 and 2: small $1,133.00, medium $1,462.60, large $2,029.10, fees for 2026-27) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Brisbane City Council, Apply for a food licence (application fee under 250 sqm $1,005.90; pre-lodgement consultation and report $378.75) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- ABLIS, Food Business Notification, Sutherland Shire Council (administration $100.00, commercial inspection $210.00, Food Authority $370 an hour, fees for 2026-27) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- ABLIS, Notification of a Food Business, City of Perth (notification $105.00, fees for 2025-26) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- ABLIS, Food Business Notification, City of Adelaide (no fee for notification; small business inspection $145.00, fees for 2026-27) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- CreditorWatch, One in eight cafes and restaurants closing (19 August 2026; closure rate 12.03 per cent against 6.69 per cent all industries, 12 months to July 2026) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- Zest Specialty Coffee Roasters, How to arrive at a realistic budget for cafe start-up expenses (hold a 10 to 20 per cent contingency line) (accessed 22 October 2026)
This is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Figures are indicative market data from the sources listed, not Ventas offers, and move with the market. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a professional. All finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to fit out a cafe in Australia?
A standard 40 to 80 square metre cafe typically costs $100,000 to $350,000, or $3,000 to $5,000 per square metre. A kiosk under 40 square metres runs $60,000 to $150,000, and a large cafe with a full kitchen $350,000 to $600,000 or more (Hospitality Hub, July 2026). Equipment is 40 to 60 per cent of that total.
How much does a commercial coffee machine cost?
New two-group machines listed by Australian dealers run from about $6,100 for a Wega Atlas Compact to $15,600 for a La Marzocco Linea AV, GST included. A grinder such as the Mazzer Major V Automatic is about $2,200. Hospitality Hub says machines list from about $3,000 to $20,000, with grinders extra.
Is it cheaper to fit out a site that was already a cafe?
Often. One Melbourne cost guide says a previously fitted-out food tenancy can be worth $60,000 to $100,000 more than an equivalent empty shop. The saving depends on what still works, so inspect the exhaust, grease arrestor and services first, since replacing an outdated hood can add about $30,000.
Can I finance a cafe fit-out?
Often, but lenders treat the two parts differently. Equipment such as the coffee machine, grinders and fridges finances on its own. Joinery, ducting and cool room panels resell poorly, so expect a deposit, a shorter term or property security. Some lenders fund both together up to about $500,000, subject to lender assessment.
How long does a cafe fit-out take?
Hospitality Hub says a typical fit-out takes about 6 to 12 weeks once approvals are in. Imported coffee machines and fridges carry 8 to 16 week lead times, so order them early. The Fratelli Cafe build in Adelaide CBD ran 21 weeks. Ask your landlord for a rent-free fit-out period.
Get your number from the lender panel
The figures above are indicative. Tell us what you are buying and we will come back with the real rate and repayment, usually within a day. No upfront fees and no credit check to get a quote.
The fit-out, then the finance
Send us the fit-out quote and the lease terms. We will show you how the build and the equipment are funded, usually within a day.
This article is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Ventas Asset Lending is a finance broker, not a lender. Approvals are subject to lender assessment. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a qualified professional, including your accountant for any tax questions.