What a CNC machine costs in Australia
Twenty-two Australian listings surveyed in October 2026 ask from $9,242 ex GST for a small new router to $402,880 for a double-column machining centre. In this set, new plasma tables ask $12,000 and $31,890, fibre lasers $80,000 and $182,500, and a used 2010 Haas VF2 mill $50,000. Maker, size and age drive the price.
A CNC machine is priced by what it cuts, how big it is, who built it and how old it is, so the same three letters cover a $9,242 router and a $402,880 double-column machining centre. This guide sets out 22 live Australian asking prices for routers, plasma and laser cutters, lathes and machining centres, what separates a $20,000 used lathe from a $370,000 mill-turn centre, the freight, installation, power and software costs the listings leave out, and how buyers fund the purchase.
What CNC machines cost
"CNC" covers routers, plasma and laser cutters, lathes and mills, and the price follows the type first and the maker second. The table lists 14 live asking prices from the machines4u.com.au marketplace on 22 October 2026, with the listing ID in brackets. Prices are ex GST and are the sellers' own, so they are indicative market data and not Ventas offers. "Not disclosed" means the listing does not show it. If you want the finance side first, see CNC finance.
| Listing | Type | What the listing shows | Where | Asking price ex GST |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wood Tech CRT2436A (machines4u 1010005) | New 2023 router, 3 axis | Table size, spindle and tool changer not disclosed | Dealers in NSW, QLD, SA, VIC, WA | $9,242 |
| Biesse Rover A3 4.0 (1200155) | Used 2007 flatbed router | 10-tool magazine, 1310 x 3700 mm vacuum bed, pump included | Wynyard TAS | $28,500 |
| LNC 1530 ATC (914928) | New 2025 router | 1500 x 3000 mm, 9 kW spindle, 12-tool changer, installation and training offered | Ravenhall VIC | From $39,999 |
| Masterwood 1838K (264451) | New 2022 nesting router | 10 vertical drills, automatic unloading, CAD/CAM software included | Stapylton QLD, delivers nationally | $109,000 to $128,000 |
| VICON 4400 (839045) | New 2022 plasma table | 1300 mm wide, cuts to 25 mm steel, plasma source not disclosed | Buderim QLD | $12,000 |
| Farley EcoShape PM85 Sync (990021) | New 2025 plasma table | 1.5 x 3.0 m water table, Hypertherm Powermax 85, 1-year warranty | Sunshine West VIC | $31,890 |
| Axis SANS 100W (1059010) | New 2024 CO2 laser | 100 W tube, chiller, 1-year warranty, bed size not disclosed | Mildura VIC, price on Melbourne pickup | $14,400 |
| TW3015X 3 kW (1270965) | New 2022 fibre laser | 3000 x 1500 mm exchange table, free installation in WA, was $120,000 | Bibra Lake WA | $80,000 |
| Bodor P3 CE 6 kW (1231455) | New fibre laser | 3048 x 1524 mm, automatic sheet exchange, enclosure, metro training included | Hare & Forbes stores in NSW, QLD, VIC, WA | $182,500 |
| Optimum L33HS (1231448) | New CNC lathe | 330 x 630 mm, Siemens 808D, 6-station turret | Hare & Forbes stores in NSW, QLD, VIC, WA | $35,950 |
| Haas SL20 (1274658) | Used 1999 CNC lathe | 8 inch chuck, 10-station turret, bar feeder, GST basis unclear | Brendale QLD | $20,000 |
| Doosan Puma 280LM (1083747) | Used 2009 CNC lathe | Fanuc 0iTC, 12-station milling turret, bar feeder | Mount Gambier SA | $75,000 |
| Haas VF2 (1274079) | Used 2010 machining centre | 762 x 406 x 508 mm travel, 20-tool changer, spindle speed stated two ways | Clayton South VIC | $50,000 |
| King Rich KR-ME500 (1196720) | New machining centre | Fanuc 0i-MF Plus, 12-tool changer, 510 x 400 x 450 mm travel | Taminda NSW | From $85,000 |
Three things stand out. Type sets the band before brand does: the cheapest router, plasma table and CO2 laser in the table all ask under $15,000, while the two fibre lasers ask $80,000 and $182,500. Routers alone run from $9,242 to $128,000, and some listings do not show table size, spindle or controller, so compare like with like before you compare prices. And extras decide the real cost: Bodor includes an enclosure and metro training, the Axis CO2 laser quotes setup and training separately, and most used listings say nothing about either.
Used machining centres, lasers and big-name makers
In the Haas, Mazak and DMG Mori searches every priced listing is used, and new machines from the big names often say price on application. Hare & Forbes lists its new DN Solutions (Doosan) PUMA turning centres as "Ask for Price" (listing 1231413). The table adds eight listings, seven used and one new. None of the used machines shows hours.
| Listing | Type | What the listing shows | Where | Asking price ex GST |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| King Rich KR-B4V (1276237) | Used 2003 bed mill | 1500 x 600 x 480 mm travel, 5.5 kW spindle, Prototrak control, tool changer not mentioned | Bayswater North VIC | $25,000 |
| Okuma LT15-MY (1267631) | Used 1998 twin-spindle lathe | Live tooling, Y-axis, bar feeder, two new servo drives | Melbourne VIC | $50,000 |
| Doosan DNM500 (1267417) | Used 2011 machining centre | 1020 x 540 x 510 mm travel, 12,000 rpm, 30-tool changer, 4th axis ready. Price field says no GST, text says GST applies | Brendale QLD | $60,000 |
| Haas VF-6B/40 (1206378) | Used 2006 large mill | 1626 x 813 mm travel, 4th-axis rotary table included, seller reports $35,000 of repairs | Braybrook VIC | $88,000 |
| Amada FO 3015 (1277502) | Used 2002 4 kW laser | 3 x 1.5 m shuttle table, Fanuc control, price includes delivery and installation | Oxford Falls NSW | $245,000 |
| Haas VF3SS 5-axis (1284666) | Used 2019 five-axis mill | Sold with tools and accessories, seller says new price is $550,000 with accessories | Banyo QLD | $258,000 |
| Mazak Integrex E-420H-II (1202946) | Used 2014 mill-turn centre | 3000 mm machining length, checked over by Mazak Australia, was $415,000 | Braybrook VIC | $370,000 |
| PRIMINER GT18 (1036268) | New 2024 double-column machining centre | 1800 x 1200 x 600 mm travel, 60-tool changer, 18.5 kW spindle | Cranbourne West VIC | $402,880 |
Age moves price, but not in a straight line. Haas listings run from $20,000 for a 1999 SL20 lathe to $258,000 for a 2019 five-axis VF3SS, and the 2019 machine asks about 47 per cent of the $550,000 new price its seller quotes (seller's figure, our arithmetic). A 2002 Amada laser asks $245,000, more than a new 6 kW Bodor at $182,500, so age alone does not predict price. The VF-6B/40 shows the used risk: its seller reports $35,000 of repairs. Ask for service records, a run test under power, the control's age and the maker's parts and service support in your state.
What drives the price
Four things move the number most.
- Size. The 2006 Haas VF-6B/40 (1626 x 813 mm travel) asks $88,000 against $50,000 for the 2010 VF2 (762 x 406 mm), so travel can outweigh age.
- Automation. Tool changers, vacuum beds, bar feeders and sheet exchange add cost. The LNC 1530 with a 12-tool changer starts at $39,999, while the Masterwood nesting router at $109,000 to $128,000 adds drilling heads, unloading and CAD/CAM.
- Power. New fibre lasers ask $80,000 at 3 kW and $182,500 at 6 kW, against $14,400 for a 100 W CO2 tube.
- Support. Local parts, service and training are not in the sticker price, so ask what comes with it. The Bodor listing includes metro training and a 5-year factory warranty on its laser source, head and control.
What you pay on top of the machine
The asking price is rarely the invoice total. These costs sit on top, and the listings show how patchy the detail is.
| Cost | What the listings show |
|---|---|
| Freight | One used Haas VF2 listing, ex Melbourne, quotes $3,000 to Sydney, $3,500 to Adelaide and $3,700 to Brisbane, ex GST. Most listings say "delivers nationally" and give no price. |
| Installation and training | Bodor includes commissioning and operator training in metro areas. The TW3015X offers free installation in WA. The Amada price includes delivery and installation. The Axis CO2 laser quotes setup and training separately. Most used listings say nothing. |
| Power and air | The Haas VF2 needs 3-phase power (70 A at 220 V or 35 A at 440 V) and 113 L/min of air at 6.9 bar. The used ART XR5000 router (1286097) needs 3-phase on a D-curve breaker, a separate circuit for its vacuum pump and clean, dry, oil-free air. The VICON plasma table runs on single phase 230 V. Electrician and compressor costs are not published, so get quotes. |
| Extraction and enclosures | A Professional 1330 router listing (999718) sells its dust collector for $880 extra. Farley lists an air dryer and 2-stage filtration at $2,100. Bodor includes a Class One laser enclosure. AMTIL says an unguarded Class 4 fibre laser has a safety zone of more than 70 metres and that eyewear is no substitute for interlocked enclosures. |
| Software and options | Farley lists a ProNest LT nesting upgrade at $4,100, a rotary pipe attachment at $6,600 and spot drilling at $11,000, ex GST. The Masterwood includes CAD/CAM. The mill and lathe listings above do not price CAM software. |
| Tooling and workholding | Not priced in any listing. The Haas VF-6B/40 includes a 4th-axis rotary table and "some tooling", and the VF3SS is sold with a large set of tools. Ask for the tool list in writing. |
| GST | Prices here are ex GST. Confirm the GST basis in writing, because the Doosan DNM500 price field says no GST while its text says GST applies. Ask your accountant how GST and depreciation apply to you. |
Financing a CNC machine purchase
CNC machines are among the easier assets to fund because the machine is the security and there is a resale market, but lender appetite is not uniform. Recognised makers such as Haas, Mazak, Okuma, DMG Mori and Doosan, with a service history, read cleanly. Lenders can be more cautious with very old machines, because age limits apply at the end of the term, with unbranded imports that have thin local parts and service, and with one-off or heavily modified machines. An auction or private-sale machine can be funded but may need an inspection or valuation. Ventas is a finance broker, not a lender, so we do not quote rates here. They move with the lender, the security and the file.
Most buyers use a chattel mortgage, where you own the machine and the lender takes security over it. Our chattel mortgage guide explains it. Tax and GST treatment depend on your business, so ask your accountant.
Illustrative only, subject to lender assessment. A used vertical machining centre bought at $60,000 ex GST, like the Doosan DNM500 listing above. Freight is based on the $3,000 to $3,700 quoted on the Haas VF2 listing, rounded up for rigging. The other lines are our assumptions, not quotes:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Used vertical machining centre with 4th axis | $60,000 |
| Freight and rigging | $4,500 |
| Electrical, compressed air and installation | $6,000 |
| Tool holders, vice and workholding | $12,000 |
| CAM software and first-year support | $5,000 |
| Operator training | $2,500 |
| Working capital until the first invoices are paid | $10,000 |
| Total cash needed, ex GST | $100,000 |
And how it is typically funded across lender types:
| Funding layer | Amount | What it covers | Secured on |
|---|---|---|---|
| Equipment finance (chattel mortgage) | $48,000 | 80 per cent of the machine invoice | The machine itself |
| Property-backed business loan or secured line | $29,000 | The other $12,000 of the machine, tooling and workholding, and software | Your home or other property |
| Your funds | $23,000 | Freight, electrical and air, training and working capital | Cash |
| Total | $100,000 |
Debt here is $77,000 of the $100,000. Equipment finance is valued on what the machine would resell for, not what you paid, so a lender may advance less against an older machine or one with thin resale demand. Freight, installation and training can sometimes be rolled into the equipment facility when they sit on the supplier's invoice, which lowers the cash you need. A property-backed loan secured on a home or other property can fund the gap, at the cost of putting that property at risk if the machine does not earn what you planned.
What makes a CNC deal fundable:
- The invoice. A supplier quote with make, model, year and serial number.
- The work. Orders, contracts or a trading history that show the machine will be used. A first machine needs a stronger story: operator experience and orders in hand.
- The machine. A recognised maker, parts and service in your state, and a run test or inspection if it is used.
- The business. ABN and GST registration, recent BAS and business bank statements.
- Security. Property you own widens the options on limits and terms.
To get a number from Ventas, send the make and model, the supplier and price ex GST, whether it is new or used and its year, the freight, installation and training on the quote, and how long you have been trading. Start at CNC finance, see laser cutter finance for fibre and CO2 lasers, manufacturing equipment finance for wider plant, or read can I finance a CNC machine. Finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
- machines4u.com.au, CNC machines search (31 listings on page one, many show price on application) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u.com.au, CNC routers search (483 items) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u.com.au, laser cutters search (828 items) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u.com.au, plasma cutters search (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u.com.au, CNC lathes search (395 items) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u.com.au, Haas search (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u.com.au, Mazak search (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Wood Tech CRT2436A CNC router, listing 1010005 ($9,242 ex GST, new 2023, dealers in NSW, QLD, SA, VIC, WA) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Biesse Rover A3 4.0 CNC flatbed router, Wynyard TAS, listing 1200155 ($28,500 ex GST, 2007) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, LNC 1530 ATC router, Ravenhall VIC, listing 914928 (from $39,999 ex GST, 2025, installation and training offered) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Professional 1330 ATC router with Masso controller, Ravenhall VIC, listing 999718 ($36,364 to $45,455 ex GST, dust collector $880 extra, 3-year warranty with installation package) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Masterwood 38 x 18 flatbed nesting router, listing 264451 ($109,000 to $128,000 ex GST, 2022) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, ART XR5000 CNC router, QLD, listing 1286097 (3-phase and compressed air requirements) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, VICON 4400 CNC plasma cutter, Buderim QLD, listing 839045 ($12,000 ex GST, 2022, single phase 230 V) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Farley EcoShape PM85 Sync plasma cutting machine, Sunshine West VIC, listing 990021 ($31,890 ex GST, 2025, optional extras priced) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Axis SANS 100W CO2 laser cutting machine, Mildura VIC, listing 1059010 ($14,400 ex GST, 2024, setup and training by quotation) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, TW3015X 3 kW fibre laser cutting machine, Bibra Lake WA, listing 1270965 ($80,000 ex GST, was $120,000, free installation in WA) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Bodor P3 CE 6 kW fibre laser, Hare & Forbes Machinery House, listing 1231455 ($182,500 ex GST, enclosure, metro commissioning and training included) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Amada FO 3015 laser, Oxford Falls NSW, listing 1277502 ($245,000 ex GST, 2002, delivery and installation included) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Optimum CNC lathe L33HS, Hare & Forbes Machinery House, listing 1231448 ($35,950 ex GST, new) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, DN Solutions PUMA 600/700/800 CNC turning centres, Hare & Forbes Machinery House, listing 1231413 (price shown as Ask for Price, operator training listed) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Haas SL20 lathe with bar feeder, Brendale QLD, listing 1274658 ($20,000, 1999) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Doosan Puma 280LM with bar feeder, Mount Gambier SA, listing 1083747 ($75,000 ex GST, 2009) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Haas VF2 vertical machining centre, Clayton South VIC, listing 1274079 ($50,000 ex GST, 2010, freight $3,000 to $3,700 by destination, power and air requirements) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, King Rich KR-ME500 vertical machining centre, Taminda NSW, listing 1196720 (from $85,000 ex GST, new) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, King Rich KR-B4V vertical machining centre, Bayswater North VIC, listing 1276237 ($25,000 ex GST, 2003) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Okuma LT15-MY twin spindle mill turn lathe, Melbourne VIC, listing 1267631 ($50,000 ex GST, 1998) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Doosan DNM500 VMC with 4th axis, Brendale QLD, listing 1267417 ($60,000, 2011, price field says no GST, text says GST applies) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Haas VF-6B/40 vertical machining centre, Braybrook VIC, listing 1206378 ($88,000 ex GST, 2006, $35,000 of repairs reported) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Haas VF3SS 5-axis mill, Banyo QLD, listing 1284666 ($258,000 ex GST, 2019, seller states $550,000 new price with accessories) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, Mazak Integrex E-420H-II (3000U), Braybrook VIC, listing 1202946 ($370,000 ex GST, was $415,000, 2014) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- machines4u, PRIMINER High Speed Double Column GT18, Cranbourne West VIC, listing 1036268 ($402,880 ex GST, new 2024) (accessed 22 October 2026)
- AMTIL, Unveiling the risks of open fibre laser cutting machines (posted 25 October 2024; enclosures with interlocks, safety zone over 70 metres for an unguarded Class 4 fibre laser) (accessed 22 October 2026)
This is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Figures are indicative market data from the sources listed, not Ventas offers, and move with the market. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a professional. All finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
Frequently asked questions
How much does a CNC machine cost in Australia?
Twenty-two listings surveyed on 22 October 2026 ask $9,242 to $402,880 ex GST. A small new router is at the bottom and a new double-column machining centre at the top. In this set, plasma tables ask $12,000 and $31,890, fibre lasers $80,000 and up, and used Haas mills $50,000 and up. Freight, installation, tooling and software are extra.
How much does a CNC router cost?
Listings show a Wood Tech router at $9,242, an LNC 1530 with a 12-tool changer from $39,999, a used 2007 Biesse at $28,500 in Tasmania, and a new Masterwood nesting router at $109,000 to $128,000, all ex GST. Table size, spindle, vacuum bed and automation separate them, and some listings do not disclose them.
How much does a CNC lathe or machining centre cost?
A new Optimum CNC lathe asks $35,950 and a used 1999 Haas SL20 asks $20,000. Used machining centres ask $25,000 (2003 King Rich), $50,000 (2010 Haas VF2) and $88,000 (2006 Haas VF-6B/40). A new King Rich starts at $85,000 and a new double-column Priminer asks $402,880. All ex GST.
How much does a laser or plasma cutter cost?
Listings show a new 100 W CO2 laser at $14,400, a new 3 kW fibre laser at $80,000 and a new 6 kW fibre laser at $182,500. CNC plasma tables ask $12,000 and $31,890. Ask whether the enclosure, extraction, installation and training are in the quote, because they differ between suppliers.
Is a used CNC machine worth buying?
It can be, if you check what you cannot see. Used asking prices run from $20,000 for a 1999 Haas lathe to $370,000 for a 2014 Mazak Integrex, but neither listing shows machine hours. Ask for service records, a run test under power, the control's age and local parts support before you pay.
Can I finance a CNC machine?
Often, yes. The machine is the security, so equipment finance on the supplier invoice is the usual route, and a property-backed loan can fund the gap. Lenders prefer recognised makers with resale demand and are more careful with very old or unbranded machines. Approval depends on the business, the machine and the file.
Get your number from the lender panel
The figures above are indicative. Tell us what you are buying and we will come back with the real rate and repayment, usually within a day. No upfront fees and no credit check to get a quote.
The machine, then the finance
Tell us the machine, the supplier and whether it is new or used. We will come back with a structure, usually within a day.
This article is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Ventas Asset Lending is a finance broker, not a lender. Approvals are subject to lender assessment. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a qualified professional, including your accountant for any tax questions.