What private lenders charge in Australia
A $500,000 private first mortgage held for 12 months costs about $56,000 to $78,500 in interest and fees, or 11 to 16 per cent of the loan (our arithmetic from published ranges). A second mortgage costs about $79,200 to $117,500. Lenders' own pages show rates from 8% to 9.7% a year, but those are best-case starting points.
Private and non-bank lenders price on the property, the exit and the speed, not on your trading history. That is why the headline rate on a lender page can start at 8% a year while a real quote on a second mortgage runs at 18% or more, and why fees matter as much as the rate on a loan that lasts a year or less. This guide sets out what lenders publish for rates, fees, LVRs and terms by security position and property type, works the cost of a $500,000 loan against a $1.2m property, and covers when a private lender is worth the price. It is for business-purpose loans only.
What lenders publish for rates and fees
Few private lenders publish a full rate card, and a "from" rate is the best case, not the typical one. The table below lists what the lender pages we opened actually say, with gaps marked. Where a page does not say whether it is a lender or a broker, we say so. Figures are indicative market data, not Ventas offers.
| Lender (role) | Product | Rate published | Fees published | Max LVR | Term |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridgit (lender) | Commercial bridging, company or trust | From 8.99% p.a., interest in advance | Set-up fee from 1.00%, discharge $385, valuations from $220 | 75% | Up to 24 months |
| Bridgit (lender) | Commercial residual stock | From 8.74% p.a. | Set-up fee from 1.25% | 70% | Up to 24 months |
| Secured Lending, Sydney (lender) | First mortgage, interest only | From 9.7% p.a. | Establishment 1% to 2% | 70% | 1 to 24 months |
| Secured Lending, Sydney (lender) | Second mortgage, interest only | From 9.7% p.a. | Establishment 1% to 2% | 70% combined | 1 to 24 months |
| Goodland Capital (role not stated on page) | FlexiBiz, second mortgages accepted | From 8% p.a., fixed for the term | Not published, 'disclosed upfront' | 75% metro residential, 65% commercial | Up to 6 months, no minimum term |
| Goodland Capital (role not stated on page) | FlexiProperty | From 8% p.a., fixed for the term | Not published | 75% metro residential, 65% commercial | Up to 12 months |
| Bluestone (non-bank lender), for contrast | Commercial property loan, principal and interest | From 7.99% p.a. full doc, from 8.89% p.a. flexible doc, as at 7 Oct 2026 | Application up to 1.25%, discharge $500, early repayment fee 2.0% in the first 3 years | 80% | Not stated |
| CCG (lender) | Second mortgage, interest only | 18.75% to 21.75% p.a. | No line fees stated, other fees not published | 75% | 6 to 12 months |
Three things stand out. Starting rates run from 8% to 9.7% a year on first-ranking security, but CCG, the one lender page we found that leads with second mortgages, prices them at 18.75% to 21.75%. Goodland Capital publishes no fee amounts and Secured Lending publishes only a 1% to 2% establishment fee, so the rate alone tells you little. And Bridgit takes its interest in advance and adds it to the loan, with a set-up fee quoted per year. Bridgit's commercial page lists security as commercial, light industrial, mixed use or residential investment property held by a company or trust, with conditional approval in under 72 hours. Bluestone, a non-bank lender, is in the table for contrast: its commercial property loan starts from 7.99% a year on full documentation, which shows what the price of speed and flexibility is. Every page says the final rate depends on the borrower, the security and the exit.
Rates by security position and property type
Because lenders publish so little, we also checked two indicative rate guides from Innovate Funding, which describes itself as a non-bank and private lender but also refers to sourcing from a panel of lenders. They are marketing pages, not rate cards, and the two differ slightly (the April 2026 rates page and the 2026 first mortgage guide). Treat the ranges as a map of the market, not a quote.
| Security and property | Rate range | Max LVR | Term |
|---|---|---|---|
| First mortgage, metro residential | 8.95% to 11.50% p.a. | 70% to 75% | 1 to 24 months |
| First mortgage, regional residential | 9.95% to 12.50% p.a. | 65% to 70% | 1 to 24 months |
| First mortgage, commercial or industrial | 9.95% to 12.95% p.a. | 60% to 70% | 1 to 24 months |
| First mortgage, rural | 10.95% to 13.50% p.a. | 55% to 65% | 6 to 24 months |
| First mortgage, development site without a DA | 11.00% to 14.00% p.a. | 50% to 60% | 6 to 18 months |
| Second mortgage, metro residential, 60% to 70% combined | 1.1% to 1.5% a month (13.2% to 18% p.a.) | 60% to 70% combined | 3 to 24 months |
| Second mortgage, regional or commercial | 1.5% to 1.75% a month (18% to 21% p.a.) | 65% to 75% combined | 3 to 18 months |
| Caveat loan, metro residential | 1.5% to 2.5% a month (18% to 30% p.a.) | Up to 65% | 1 to 6 months |
| Caveat loan, regional or commercial | 2.5% to 3.5% a month (30% to 42% p.a.) | Up to 55% | 1 to 6 months |
The pattern is consistent with the lender pages. A first mortgage over metro residential property is the cheapest security. Commercial, regional and rural property cost more and lend less. A second mortgage costs more than a first, and Innovate Funding's ranges put it roughly 1.5 to 2 times higher, and a caveat loan, priced monthly and held for a few weeks, is the most expensive. Royce Stone Capital, a private lender, puts the rule of thumb at 1.5 to 2.5 times the first mortgage rate for a second.
Fees, minimum interest and what goes wrong at the end
On a loan held for 6 or 12 months, fees are a large share of the cost. These are the ranges published.
| Cost | First mortgage | Second mortgage | Caveat loan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Establishment fee | 1% to 3% (1% to 2% at Secured Lending) | 2% to 4% | 2% to 5% |
| Legal | $2,000 to $4,000 | $2,500 to $5,000 | $1,500 to $3,500 |
| Valuation | $500 to $2,000 (Bridgit: from $220) | $500 to $2,000 | Not listed |
| First mortgagee consent | Not applicable | $200 to $500 | Not applicable |
| Discharge | Bridgit commercial: $385. Bluestone: $500 | Not listed | Not listed |
| Government registration, Western Australia, from 1 July 2026 | Mortgage $225.10, discharge $225.10 | Mortgage $225.10, discharge $225.10 | Caveat $225.10 |
Beyond the table, three costs catch borrowers out. First, some facilities carry a minimum interest period, typically three to six months according to Aurelius Private, a broker, so repaying early saves nothing. Second, a default rate: Innovate Funding says 4% to 6% above the headline rate is common if the loan is not repaid by maturity. Third, extension fees, which no lender page we opened quantifies. Government charges add a little: Landgate in Western Australia charges $225.10 to lodge a mortgage, a discharge or a caveat from 1 July 2026, and in Queensland the lender signs a release that must be registered with Titles Queensland before the mortgage is released. Ask for a written schedule that covers a late exit, not only the clean case.
Loan-to-value ratios by property type
Lenders publish a maximum LVR, but the one you get depends on the property. Secured Lending caps first mortgages at 70%, and a second mortgage at 70% combined with the first. Goodland Capital lists 75% on metro residential and 65% on commercial. CCG lends up to 75% on a second mortgage. Innovate Funding shows 60% to 70% on commercial and industrial property, 55% to 65% on rural property and 50% to 60% on a development site without a development approval. We found no lender page that lists a separate LVR for vacant land, so ask. Expect a lower figure than for a house, because vacant land is harder to sell quickly.
When a private lender beats a bank
A private lender costs more than a bank or a property-backed non-bank loan, so it has to earn the difference. It does when time or credit is the problem:
- Speed. Aurelius Private says an indicative decision is usually the same day and formal credit approval takes two to five business days. Bridgit shows 72-hour commercial approvals. Secured Lending says 24 hours on a straightforward deal and three to five business days on a complex one.
- Low documentation or a new business. The lender relies on the property, so a business with no trading history can still borrow if the equity is there.
- An ATO debt or credit issues. Banks often decline. A private lender will look at the equity and the plan to clear the debt.
- A deal with a deadline. A purchase that fails without funds, or a stock opportunity with a hard date.
Banks are mostly not the alternative for this kind of loan: Westpac's bridging loan page, for example, is for owner-occupier purposes only and not for investment property or company and trust lending. If your timeline allows a few extra days, price the cheaper non-bank route first. Our guide to property-backed business loans covers it, and caveat loans explained covers the emergency end.
Business purpose only, and the exit every lender asks for
This page covers business-purpose lending only. ASIC says the credit legislation applies when credit is for personal, domestic or household purposes, and that a loan to an individual to buy residential property for investment is also regulated. It says loans to companies are not subject to the credit legislation. When the security is a home or an investment property, the lender will ask for a signed business purpose declaration, and it has to be true. Borrowing for personal or household use is regulated consumer credit, which this guide does not cover. Ask your lawyer about your own position.
Every private lender then asks one question: how do you repay on the due date? The accepted exits are a sale of the security, a refinance to a cheaper lender once the reason for the private loan is fixed, or a defined cash event such as a settlement. A hope that rates fall is not an exit. If the exit is a refinance, the usual steps are lodged returns, a cleared ATO debt or a seasoned trading record, and a valuation that supports the amount. Read how to refinance a private lender loan to something cheaper and how a private or non-bank business loan against property works.
Financing a private lender loan, and what it costs
Ventas is a broker, not a lender. Private and non-bank lenders will fund a property-backed business loan when four things line up: enough equity (a combined LVR under 70% to 75%), a clear exit, a business purpose, and security the lender can sell. Appetite narrows fast on regional or rural property, vacant land and a thin equity position. Here is a worked example for a $500,000 loan against a $1.2m property. Illustrative only, subject to lender assessment.
| Item | First mortgage | Second mortgage | Caveat loan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Property value | $1,200,000 | $1,200,000 | $1,200,000 |
| Existing first mortgage | None | $250,000 | None |
| New loan | $500,000 for 12 months | $500,000 for 12 months | $500,000 for 6 months |
| Combined LVR | 41.7% | 62.5% | 41.7% |
And what each position costs over its term, from the published ranges above:
| Cost (our arithmetic) | First mortgage | Second mortgage | Caveat loan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Interest, low to high | 9.7% to 11.5% p.a.: $48,500 to $57,500 | 13.2% to 18% p.a.: $66,000 to $90,000 | 1.5% to 2.5% a month for 6 months: $45,000 to $75,000 |
| Establishment fee | 1% to 3%: $5,000 to $15,000 | 2% to 4%: $10,000 to $20,000 | 2% to 5%: $10,000 to $25,000 |
| Legal | $2,000 to $4,000 | $2,500 to $5,000 | $1,500 to $3,500 |
| Valuation and consent | $500 to $2,000 | $700 to $2,500 | Not listed |
| Total | $56,000 to $78,500 | $79,200 to $117,500 | $56,500 to $103,500 |
| Total as a share of the loan | 11.2% to 15.7% | 15.8% to 23.5% | 11.3% to 20.7% |
A first mortgage here costs 11% to 16% of the loan over the year, a second mortgage 16% to 24%, and a caveat loan used for six months 11% to 21%. Discharge fees and any extension or default fees are extra. A property-backed loan or a second mortgage business loan from a bank or non-bank can cost less if you have the days. To get a number from Ventas, send the property address and value, what is owed on it, the loan amount, what the funds are for and your exit.
- Bridgit, rates and fees (commercial bridging and residual stock) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Secured Lending, private mortgage lender (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Secured Lending, second mortgage commercial property (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Goodland Capital, private lending rates (accessed 29 October 2026)
- CCG (Credit Connect Group), second mortgage (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Royce Stone Capital, second mortgage terms versus first mortgages (9 December 2023) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Innovate Funding, private loan interest rates 2026 (broker or comparison page, indicative) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Innovate Funding, first mortgage private lenders Australia (indicative) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Aurelius Private, private lending FAQ (broker) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Bridgit, commercial bridging loan (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Bluestone, our rates (commercial property loans, as at 7 October 2026) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Westpac, bridging loan (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Landgate, current fees (lodgement fees from 1 July 2026) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Titles Queensland, registering a release of mortgage (accessed 29 October 2026)
- ASIC, FAQs: does the credit legislation apply? (accessed 29 October 2026)
- ASIC, National Credit Code (accessed 29 October 2026)
This is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Figures are indicative market data from the sources listed, not Ventas offers, and move with the market. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a professional. All finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
Frequently asked questions
What interest rate do private lenders charge in Australia?
On the lender pages we opened, first mortgage rates start from 8% to 9.7% a year. Indicative guides show 8.95% to 14% a year for first mortgages, and second mortgages at 13.2% to 21% a year, or 1.1% to 1.75% a month. Caveat loans run higher. Your rate depends on the property and exit.
How much does a private lender loan cost in fees?
Published establishment fees run from 1% to 3% on a first mortgage, 2% to 4% on a second mortgage and 2% to 5% on a caveat loan. Legal costs are $1,500 to $5,000 and valuations $500 to $2,000 on Innovate Funding's ranges. Discharge and default fees are extra.
What is the maximum LVR for a private lender?
Lender pages show 70% at Secured Lending, 75% on metro residential and 65% on commercial at Goodland Capital, and up to 75% on a second mortgage at CCG. Rural property and development sites without approval are lower, around 50% to 65%, on Innovate Funding's indicative ranges.
Is there a minimum interest period on a private loan?
Some lenders apply one. Aurelius Private, a broker, says it is typically three to six months where it applies, and Innovate Funding says three to six months is common. If a minimum applies, repaying early does not reduce the interest you owe. Goodland's FlexiBiz states no minimum term.
Can I use a private lender loan for personal reasons?
No, not under the loans this guide covers. These are business-purpose loans. Borrowing for personal, domestic or household use is regulated consumer credit, and ASIC says loans to individuals to invest in residential property are also regulated. The lender asks for a signed business purpose declaration and may ask questions about what the money is for.
How fast can a private lender settle?
Lender pages say 24 hours on a straightforward deal at Secured Lending, 72-hour commercial approvals at Bridgit and, per Aurelius Private, a formal approval in two to five business days. Complex deals, new valuations and legal work take longer. Speed is the main reason people pay the higher rate.
Get your number from the lender panel
The figures above are indicative. Tell us what you are buying and we will come back with the real rate and repayment, usually within a day. No upfront fees and no credit check to get a quote.
Your property, your number
Send us the property, what is owed on it and what the funds are for. We will show you what private and non-bank lenders would offer, usually within a day.
This article is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Ventas Asset Lending is a finance broker, not a lender. Approvals are subject to lender assessment. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a qualified professional, including your accountant for any tax questions.