What a second mortgage costs for a business loan in Australia
Published second mortgage rates start between 9.95% and 15% p.a., and one guide puts typical residential pricing at 12% to 18% p.a. On $150,000 that is about $18,000 to $27,000 a year in interest (our arithmetic), plus establishment and legal fees. Combined LVR caps run from 65% to 75%.
A second mortgage lets a business owner borrow against a home that already has a home loan, without touching that home loan. The price is higher than the first mortgage because the second lender is repaid second if the property is sold. There is no standard rate card, and some lenders publish only a 'from' rate or no fees at all. This guide sets out what nine lender and broker pages publish, what that costs in dollars on a $150,000 advance, how the combined LVR limits the amount, what the first lender's consent adds, and how a second mortgage compares with a caveat loan or refinancing the whole home loan.
What second mortgage lenders publish
There is no standard rate card for second mortgages in Australia. These are private and non-bank loans, so pricing is set lender by lender and often per deal. The table below sets out what each page says, and where a page does not publish a figure the cell says so. Most quote a "from" rate, which is a starting point for a low-risk deal and not what most borrowers pay. Types are as the page presents itself. Business Bridging Loans says its second mortgage product is delivered in collaboration with Secured Lending and shows the same rates and the same $2m cap, so treat those two rows as one data point. Prime Finance's larger tiers quote a margin over the RBA cash rate with a floor, so their rate moves with the cash rate.
| Lender page | Type | Published rate | Fees published | Combined LVR | Loan size and term |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alphacon Capital, Alphacon Second | Private lender | From 9.95% p.a., quoted per deal | Not published | 70% combined | $100,000 to $5m, 6 to 60 months |
| Secured Lending, low cost second mortgage | Private lender | 11.95% (1 month), 12.95% (2 months), 13.95% (3 months) p.a. | Not published | 70% combined | $250,000 to $2m, 1 to 3 months |
| Semper Secured, second mortgages | Lender | From 12% p.a. | Establishment 0.825% to 2.2%; application $750 to $1,500 plus GST; valuation and legal at cost | Second mortgage cap not published (75% on metro residential first mortgages) | $500,000 to $25m, 3 months to 3 years |
| Formation Finance, second mortgage loans | Not disclosed | From 15% p.a. | Establishment, valuation and legal fees apply, amounts not published | Up to 75% combined | $100,000 to $5m+, 3 to 24 months |
| Prime Finance, second mortgages | Private lender | 12% p.a. at 70%, 75% and 80% LVR on loans of $50,000 to $500,000; larger loans 11.95% to 19.95% floor plus a margin over the RBA cash rate | Legal and valuation fees only on the small-loan tier; others not published | 80% major cities, 75% regional, 70% rural (small-loan tier); 65% on commercial in major cities | $50,000 to $20m by tier, 1 month to 1 year on the small-loan tier |
| Goodland Capital, FlexiBiz | Private lender | From 8% p.a. on the product; rate for 2nd mortgages not published | Not published | 75% metro residential, 65% metro commercial (second mortgage cap not published) | $50,000 to $8m, up to 6 months |
| Business Bridging Loans, second mortgage (repeats Secured Lending's figures, not an independent data point) | Not disclosed (page says delivered with Secured Lending) | 11.95% to 13.95% p.a. by term | Processing 1.75% to 2.20%; management 0.15% to 0.187% a month | Second mortgage max LVR 65% | Up to $2m, 1 to 3 months |
| Switchboard Finance, second mortgage loans | Broker | From 1% a month (12% p.a., our arithmetic) | Establishment up to 10%; legal $4,000 to $6,000 minimum | 70% to 75% of forced sale value | $200,000 to $50m+, 1 to 24 months |
| Innovate Funding, second mortgage guide | Not disclosed (reads as intermediary) | Indicative 12% to 18% p.a. on residential security | Establishment 1% to 3%; legal and valuation extra | Up to 75% metro residential | Loan size not published, 3 to 24 months |
Two things stand out. Starting rates run from 9.95% to 15% p.a. across the lenders,, and one intermediary guide (Innovate Funding) puts typical residential pricing at 12% to 18%, so assume the middle of that band rather than the lowest figure. Fees are the second cost: establishment ranges from 0.825% on one lender's page to "up to 10%" on a broker page for urgent deals. Goodland Capital lists 2nd mortgages as accepted on FlexiBiz but does not publish a second mortgage rate, so its 8% p.a. is a product-level starting rate, not a second mortgage rate.
What a second mortgage costs in dollars
Most second mortgage lenders quote an annual rate on a short term, and many take interest prepaid or capitalised rather than as monthly repayments. Our arithmetic on a $150,000 advance:
- 12% p.a.: $18,000 a year, $1,500 a month.
- 15% p.a.: $22,500 a year, $1,875 a month.
- 18% p.a.: $27,000 a year, $2,250 a month.
Add establishment (for example 0.825% to 2.2% on Semper's page is $1,238 to $3,300 on $150,000), legal costs, a valuation and any first lender fee. Innovate Funding shows legal at $2,500 to $5,000, and Switchboard shows a $4,000 to $6,000 minimum for lawyers on both sides, so plan on several thousand dollars before the first interest bill. These are indicative, and your letter of offer is what counts.
Combined LVR: how much you can borrow
A second mortgage is sized on the combined LVR, the first loan plus the new advance divided by the property value. The published caps in the table run from 65% to 75%, and the lender's valuation, sometimes a forced sale value, can come in below what you expect. On a $900,000 home with a $450,000 first mortgage, 70% allows $630,000 total debt, so a second of up to $180,000. At 65% the second tops out at $135,000, below the $150,000 in the example. Check the cap on the specific product before you plan around it.
First lender consent and the deed of priority
Whether the first lender must agree depends on the state, and older commentary differs from newer. Brans Groves, a law firm, sets out the position as: no consent needed in NSW since 11 October 2021, Queensland and Western Australia (a ban on second mortgages in the first mortgage is void in Queensland under s 78 of the Land Title Act), none for ACT; Victoria needs title nomination from the first mortgagee through PEXA, which the first lender cannot refuse but can treat as a default, so a deed of priority is usually needed in practice; Tasmania and the Northern Territory need the first lender's cooperation where a paper title is on issue. A 2017 NSW article from Surry Partners says consent was then usually needed and came with a deed of priority, extra legal cost and delay, which shows why the date of any commentary matters. Alphacon's page says consent is usually by deed of priority and runs in parallel with the application, and Secured Lending's page says the first mortgage holder must consent. Where a deed of priority is needed, expect fees from both lenders' lawyers and extra days. Some lenders use a caveat instead, which needs no consent but costs more and is shorter. Ask your solicitor which applies to you.
Government charges are small beside the lender's fees. PEXA's Victorian price list, effective from 1 July 2026 and including GST, shows a mortgage at $55.99 for a single title ($77.00 for multiple titles), and a discharge of mortgage at $27.39 ($43.01). A priority notice is $12.65. State titles office lodgement fees are separate and vary by state, so ask your conveyancer for the total.
Who borrows this way, and the business purpose rule
Owners usually use a second mortgage to buy a business, fund equipment or stock, open a second site or clear an ATO debt, with a home or investment property as security. The funds must be for business. ASIC's National Credit Code page says the code covers credit provided wholly or predominantly for personal, domestic or household purposes, or to buy or improve residential investment property. ASIC's guidance is that credit is regulated when it is mainly for personal, domestic or household purposes, and that a borrower's declaration is not conclusive if the lender had reason to doubt it. Several lenders above also require a company or trust borrower. If any of the money is going to personal use, tell the broker at the start. Where tax matters, such as the deductibility of interest, ask your accountant.
Financing a second mortgage: the three options compared
For an owner with a home loan that stays in place, the usual path to business funds is a second mortgage from a non-bank or private lender. The lenders on the published pages above are private and non-bank lenders. Most of these lenders price off the combined LVR, the property type and location, the exit and the borrower. There is no standard schedule, which is why the published pages above start at different points. Ventas is a finance broker, not a lender, so none of these figures is a Ventas offer.
Illustrative only, subject to lender assessment. An owner has a $900,000 home with a $450,000 home loan and needs $150,000 for the business:
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Home value (assumed valuation) | $900,000 |
| Existing home loan | $450,000 |
| Extra funds for the business | $150,000 |
| Total debt after a second mortgage | $600,000 |
| Combined LVR ($600,000 / $900,000) | 66.7% |
| Largest total debt at a 70% combined cap | $630,000, so a second of up to $180,000 |
| Largest total debt at a 75% combined cap | $675,000, so a second of up to $225,000 |
And how the three common routes compare on that same $150,000:
| Option | What changes | Cost shown by the published figures (our arithmetic) | Main catch |
|---|---|---|---|
| Second mortgage of $150,000 | Home loan stays; new mortgage ranks behind it | 12% p.a. is $18,000 a year ($1,500 a month) in interest. Establishment at 0.825% to 2.2% is $1,238 to $3,300. Legal costs extra. | Higher rate, short term, first lender may need to consent or sign a deed of priority |
| Caveat loan of $150,000 | Caveat lodged over the home; home loan stays | 2% to 4%+ a month is $3,000 to $6,000 a month | Shortest and dearest, built for a hard deadline |
| Refinance to one $600,000 loan | Home loan paid out, new loan covers $450,000 plus $150,000 | Every 1 percentage point on $600,000 is $6,000 a year | Reprices the existing $450,000 and can trigger discharge or break costs; needs to pass bank servicing |
The refinance can win when the existing home loan is dear or near its end anyway, or when the business needs more than a second lender will release. The second mortgage tends to win when the current home loan rate is low, when it carries a fixed rate that would cost to break, or when the funds are needed for a year or two. A caveat loan only makes sense with a defined exit inside a few months.
Lender appetite is narrow. Most second mortgage lenders want a clear exit (a refinance, a sale, a settlement), a combined LVR at or under 70% to 75%, and a company or trust borrower with a business purpose. Several pages above say interest is prepaid or capitalised, so servicing is not assessed in the usual way, but the exit is. A first mortgage that is behind on repayments, or a property in a regional or specialised market, narrows the field quickly.
Business purpose matters. If the funds go to the business, the loan is generally outside consumer credit rules, but ASIC says a signed declaration is not conclusive: it does not help where the lender knew or had reason to believe the funds were for personal or household use. Borrowing for personal use is regulated consumer credit and is not covered here.
On consent, the position depends on the state. A law firm commentary says first mortgagee consent is no longer legally required to register a second mortgage in most jurisdictions, with Victoria the exception, where the incoming lender needs title nomination via PEXA from the first lender. Many first lenders still ask for a deed of priority, and Innovate Funding says consent is the most common failure point. Allow for this in your timeline and ask your solicitor.
To get a number from Ventas, send the property address and value, the balance and lender of the home loan, the amount and purpose, the borrower (individual, company or trust), and the exit. See second mortgage business loans, property-backed business lending, borrowing against property for business and a second mortgage for business. Finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
- Alphacon Capital, Second Mortgage Private Loans (Alphacon Second) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Secured Lending, Low Cost Second Mortgage Loans (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Semper Secured, Terms and Fees (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Formation Finance, Second Mortgage Loans Australia (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Goodland Capital, Private Lending Rates (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Business Bridging Loans, Second Mortgages for Business Finance (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Switchboard Finance, Second Mortgage Loans (broker page, 'from 1% p.m.', caveat comparison 2 to 4%+ p.m.) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Innovate Funding, Second Mortgage Business Loans Australia (intermediary page, indicative 12% to 18% p.a.) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- ASIC, FAQs: Does the credit legislation apply? and National Credit Code (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Prime Finance, Second Mortgage (private lender rate and LVR tiers) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- PEXA, pricing and fees for VIC from 1 July 2026 (mortgage, discharge, priority notice) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- ASIC, National Credit Code (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Brans Groves, Consent to second mortgages (state-by-state position) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Innovate Funding, Second Mortgage Lenders Australia (arranges and sometimes funds; Penrith deal 1.5% a month capitalised) (accessed 29 October 2026)
- Legal500 / Surry Partners, Unregistered second mortgages in NSW to be avoided (2017) (accessed 29 October 2026)
This is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Figures are indicative market data from the sources listed, not Ventas offers, and move with the market. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a professional. All finance is subject to lender assessment and approval.
Frequently asked questions
What is the interest rate on a second mortgage in Australia?
Published starting rates on the pages we checked run from 9.95% to 15% p.a., with Innovate Funding describing 12% to 18% p.a. as typical on residential security. Rates are set per deal by combined LVR, security, term and exit, so a quote is the only reliable figure.
How much can I borrow on a second mortgage?
The cap is a combined LVR, usually 65% to 75% on the pages we checked. On a $900,000 home with a $450,000 home loan, 70% allows a second mortgage of up to $180,000. The lender's valuation sets the real limit.
Does the first mortgage lender have to agree?
It depends on the state and lender. Brans Groves reports no first lender consent is needed in NSW since October 2021, Queensland, WA or the ACT. Victoria needs title nomination from the first lender through PEXA, and a deed of priority is usually needed in practice. Ask your solicitor.
What fees does a second mortgage have?
Published establishment fees range from 0.825% to 2.2% on Semper's page, 1% to 3% in Innovate Funding's guide, and up to 10% on Switchboard's page for urgent deals. Legal and valuation costs are extra, and several lenders do not publish their fees.
Can I get a second mortgage for personal use?
This guide covers business purpose only. Borrowing mainly for personal, domestic or household use is regulated consumer credit, and ASIC says a business purpose declaration does not count if the lender had reason to doubt it. Ask a licensed adviser about personal borrowing.
Get your number from the lender panel
The figures above are indicative. Tell us what you are buying and we will come back with the real rate and repayment, usually within a day. No upfront fees and no credit check to get a quote.
Using your home equity for the business
Send us the property value, what is owed on the home loan and what the funds are for. We will show you how much can be released and what it costs, usually within a day.
This article is general information only and not financial, credit, or tax advice. Ventas Asset Lending is a finance broker, not a lender. Approvals are subject to lender assessment. Consider your own circumstances and speak to a qualified professional, including your accountant for any tax questions.